1963 South Minor Football Champions

November 7, 2018

Back:  Dan Morrissey, Michael Power, John Harrington, Tommy O’Connor.
Front:  Paddy Hennessy, Jackie Cooke, Tony Kirby, Jim Egan, Philly O’Connor.
On Saturday night last the St.Patrick’s team who won the south minor football final in 1963 were honoured on the 50th anniversary of their great win . St. Patrick’s were assisted by some players from Killenaule who also attended the function. Each member of the team was presented with a framed photographed of the team which I’m sure will be cherished by all those who received them. The only members of this team who are deceased are brothers Pat and George O’Brien from Cloneen village. Pat’s wife Kathleen was presented with their photographs.  Others who were unable to attend for different reasons were represented by family members. We thank the Killenaule contingent for attending and adding to the occassion on the night.