2011 Awards Night

November 8, 2018

The 2011 club awards were held in Macken’s bar last night (18th March). A fantastic crowd turned out on the night to show their support for the award winners and our recent jackpot winner, Margaret O’Malley.

Margaret, who hails from Cappacurry, Ballinrobe, bought her ticket from local business owners Malachy and Geraldine Flanagan. Her lucky numbers (4,14,25,27) were picked out on the 3rd of March to win the jackpot of €6,900.
Chairperson, Ger Canny began the night by presenting a delighted Margaret with her cheque for €6,900. Following this Malachy and Geraldine Flanagan were also presented with the €250 prize for selling the winning ticket.

The club awards for last year’s season were presented next, Padraig O’ Brien received Clubperson of the Year and also received the Joe McGrath Memorial Cup from Joe McGrath. Padraig has made a massive effort in fundraising for the club over the past year, putting forward the idea of a scrap metal collection and continually organising the collection of scrap metal.

Michael Naughton was awarded Young Player of the Year and also presented with the Christopher Hughes Perpetual Cup by David Hughes. Michael put in a fantastic year last season and is continually performing on the Intermediate panel this year, he will be a integral member of the team for the future.

David Hughes was presented with Senior Player of the Year by chairperson, Ger Canny. David continually puts in consistent performances in the backline and shows a tremendous work rate in every game, we will undoubtedly see the same from him in the years to come.

Mike Burke was enrolled into the Hall of Fame this year. Mike has contributed an enormous part of his playing career to Kilmaine football as well as playing with a number of Mayo panels. More details are to follow.

We look forward to another great year of football from both the underage teams of Carras and our senior teams. As always your support at events and games throughout the year is always appreciated and we hope you can turn out in force this year!