25th Anniversary Celebration - Saturday, 17 September

November 8, 2018

On Saturday, 17 September, the club celebrated the 25th Anniversary of winning the 1991 Minor and U-21 Championships and the 1992 Minor C'ship in Cullens, The Hill, Hacketstown. MC for the night was the inspirational trainer of those teams, Frank Donnelly, and the presentations were made by Vice-Chairman of Leinster Council, Jim Bolger. 31 of the 41 players from the Championship winning panels, and all seven mentors, were in attendance, some travelling from as far afield as Canada. They and their families enjoyed watching the videos of the games and reminiscing about what was a very exciting and successful time for the club. Well done to the Organising Committee of Jim Whelan, Des Byrne, Tommy Kelly and Ger Doyle, sound-man Ciaran Fitzgerald, and the staff of The Hill for making it a very enjoyable night.


27 July 1991: Clonmore 1-5 Rathvilly 0-8: In the 1991 U-21 final, Clonmore played neighbours and reigning champions, Rathvilly, in Dr Cullen Park, Referee: Michael Whelan (Myshall). The first match finished 0-8 to 1-5 after Clonmore had been 0-8 to 0-3 down mid-way through the second half. Michael Quigley scored a great goal on 48 minutes to spark a Clonmore revival and Tom Fallon completed the comeback with a late point to draw the game. The young Clonmore team, with several U-16s on board, showed great heart and determination to stage a spirited comeback in this game. The Rathvilly team included several of their Senior team that won the 1991 Championship defeating Eire Og in the Final.

8 August 1991: Clonmore 0-7 Rathvilly 0-5: In the replay, Clonmore raced into an early lead with points by Colm Kelly, Michael Quigley and Michael Connolly. Powered by the formidable Sean Kavanagh and Noel Doyle at midfield, Rathvilly went ahead by a point on 50 minutes before late points by Dermot O'Connor and Paul Byrne (2) and gave us our first ever U-21 title on a scoreline of 0-7 to 0-5. Captain, Eugene Lawlor, received the cup from County Chairman, LV Conway, heralding bonfires on Eagle Hill and celebrations in Hacketstown long into the night. Team: Danny Tallon, Colin Pollard, Philip Cullen, Niall Pollard, Richard Hunter, Philip Doyle, Brian Hunter, Dermot O'Connor (0-1), Joey Doyle, (0-1), Michael Quigley (0-1,f), Eugene Lawlor (Captain), Tommy Fallon, Michael Connolly (0-1), John Kiernan, Colm Kelly (0-1). Sub: Paul Byrne (0-2). 

In 1991, our Minor team entered the 'A' Championship at the semi-final stage having won the 'B' Championship by defeating Fenagh 0-12 to 0-8 in a replayed final. In the 'A' semi-final, Clonmore defeated O'Hanrahans before going on to beat our neighbours, St Patricks, by 2-12 to 0-3 in the 'A' final – both teams included Tullow Community School students trained by the legendary Padraig Cunnane. In the final, Clonmore made good use of a strong wind to lead by 2-8 to 0-1 at half-time, the scores coming from Man of the Match, Tom Fallon (0-3), Colm Kelly (1-1), Jamie Doyle (1-1), Paul Byrne (2) and full-forward Peter Kiernan (1). In the second half, Clonmore's solid defence prevented Tullow from taking advantage of the wind and the highlight was an excellent penalty save by Brian Dwyer in the last minute. Captain, Philip Doyle, accepted the Cup to complete Clonmore's first ever Minor 'A' Championship victory. Team: Brian Dwyer, Michael Flaherty, Colin Pollard, Ciaran Byrne, Philip Lyons, Philip Doyle (Captain), Colin Doyle, Dermot O'Connor, Brian Hunter, Paul Byrne (0-5,3f), Tom Fallon (0-3), Colm Kelly (1-1), Jamie Doyle (1-2), Peter Kiernan (0-1), Paul Pollard. Subs: James Doyle, Ollie Keogh, Eamonn Doyle. 

In 1992, our Minor team beat Eire Og 2-9 to 1-7 in the quarter final, Palatine 1-12 to 0-6 in the semi and Burren Rangers 1-13 to 1-6 in the final. Clonmore fielded ten of the previous year's Championship winning team in the final and controlled the game from start to finish, the goal scored by Michael Strahan. Paul Byrne was voted Man of the Match having scored 0-7, Brian Hunter also had an outstanding game as did goalkeeper Eamonn Doyle, who saved a penalty, and Captain Colin Pollard at full-back. Team: Eamonn Doyle, James Doyle, Colin Pollard, Ciaran Byrne, Paul Pollard, Brian Hunter (0-1), Philip Lyons, Dermot O'Connor (0-1), Peter Kiernan, John Connolly (0-1), Tom Fallon (0-2), Paul Byrne (0-7,5f), Jamie Doyle (0-1), Paudge McGrath, Michael Strahan (1-0). Sub: Damien Doyle.