30 March: SFL Div 2: Clonmore 2-7 Ballon 0-8

November 8, 2018

Clonmore Intermediates followed up wins by our Minors and Juniors earlier in the week with a hard fought win over a determined Ballon side at a cold and damp Woodside on Friday evening.

Clonmore were very rusty in the first half and kicked enough wides to have had the game won by half-time. The half-time score of 0-2 to 0-2 tells its own story, Clonmore's points coming from David Mulvany and a Con Murphy free. The quality of the football improved in the second half as the game opened up. Clonmore started the half brightly and points by Jamie Walsh, Paddy Gahan and Gavin Byrne put us into a 0-5 to 0-3 lead on 45 minutes.

Then 2017 Intermediate Player of the Year, Paddy Gahan, cut in from the right and sent a rocket of a shot to the far corner of Colm Barry's net. Gavin Byrne followed up with a trade mark long range free to put Clonmore 1-6 to 0-3 ahead on 48 mins. But Ballon were in no mood to throw in the towel and points by Frank Fanning (2) and big Paddy Byrne made it 1-6 to 0-6 on 51 minutes.

Clonmore lost Bobby Rooney to a second yellow card on 50 minutes but just when Ballon were looking like taking over, up popped Clonmore's debutant corner back, Sean Tompkins, for a super goal on 53 minutes. After racing through the middle he expertly lobbed the keeper to the delight of the home support. Cometh the hour, cometh the man – one of six of last year's Minors on the team, "Sean T" was having an excellent game at corner back, but no one knew just he had this in his locker.

Both teams will have to improve to make an impression on the latter stages of the League but in fairness to them, it was only their first game and underfoot conditions made good football very difficult.

Clonmore: Jordan Kane, Sean Tompkins (1-0), Willie Byrne, John Kelly, Matt Cullen, Bobby Rooney, Rory McKernan, Enda McGrath, Sean Deay, Paddy Gahan (1-1), David Mulvany (0-1), Gavin Byrne (0-2,1f), Con Murphy (0-1), Alan Humphries, Jamie Walsh (0-1). Subs: Daniel Quigley, Tom Pollard, Andrew Byrne, Anthony Byrne, Francie Whelan (0-1), Jason Byrne.

Ballon: Colm Barry, Shane Ryan, Shane Byrne, Ryan Hollick, Dan O'Connor, John Gittens (0-1), Lar O'Sullivan, Paddy Byrne (0-1), Jim Nolan, Tom Murphy (0-1), Frank Fanning (0-3,2f), Glen Pullen, David Wilson, Michael O'Leary (0-2,1f), Liam Brennan. Subs: Joe Holden, Conor Kearney, Conor Lewis.

Referee: Brian Deering (Rathvilly).

PHOTO: Sean Tompkins marked his debut for the Intermediate team with an assured performance at corner back, capped off by a cheeky lobbed goal.