AGM Report

November 8, 2018

The Annual General Meeting was held before a large attendance on Saturday last in St John's Hall, Hacketstown. Reports by Chairman, James Doyle, and Secretary, Clive Lambe, reviewed a mixed year on the playing field. There was lively debates about the importance of the club fielding a Minor team in 2016 and how to get the best from our Intermediate team which has not played to its full potential in recent seasons.

The Chairman thanked Johnny Maguire and the Juvenile Committee for their outstanding work and congratulated the Boys U-14 team on reaching the County "A" Championship final and the Girls U-14s on winning the Shield in the Feile.

Off the field, the big news was the approval of a Sports Capital Grant to refurbish the Clubhouse, while the public was thanked for their generous support for the Club Development Draw, Strictly Dancing, our weekly Lotto and the Walking Track. 

Treasurers, Aine Lawlor and Bobby Conolly, provided a detailed financial report which showed that the club is debt free and in a healthy financial state. It was noted that we will need to raise additional funds in 2016/17 as the Sports Grant will not cover the full cost of the Clubhouse refurbishment.

Tributes were paid to the late Lily Purser, Honorary President, and to two legends from the 1955/56 Senior Championship teams, Denis Connolly and Matt Cullen, who passed away during 2015. May they rest in peace.

Two officers were not seeking re-election – long serving Committee Member, Jimmy Lawlor, and Treasurer, Aine Lawlor. The Chairman thanked Jimmy and Aine for their dedicated service and he welcomed new officers, Matt Cullen (Treasurer) and Con Murphy (Adult Player). 

The following officers were returned: President: Eddie Forde; Hon. Presidents: Denis Cullen, Fr James Gahan, Jim Boland; Chairman: James Doyle; Vice-Chairman: Jim Whelan; Deputy Vice-Chairman: Paddy Lawlor; Secretary: Clive Lambe; Asst. Sec/County Board Delegate: Ger Doyle; Treasurers: Bobby Connolly, Matt Cullen; PROs Ger Doyle, Des Byrne; Insurance Officer: Paddy Quigley; Health & Safety Officer: Denis Quigley; Membership Officer: Des Byrne; Registrar: Stephen Byrne; Child Protection Officer: Johnny Maguire; Adult Player: Con Murphy; U-21 Player: Dale McNamara; Committee: Tommy Kelly, John Connolly, Jamie Doyle, Pauric Lawlor.