Annaghdown GAA Club News 14th Nov 07

November 8, 2018

This week’s lotto winning numbers were 3, 12, 16 & 18 and they produced no jackpot winner. We had ten matches 3’s: Teddy Kerin, Eileen Regan, William Dowd, Noel Hughes, Tommy Duggan, Conall Fatharta, Bernard Dennegan, Mike Forde, Ann Kinneen and N Williams. Niall Canavan won the promoters prize and next weeks jackpot is  4450 with the draw on Monday night at 9.00pm in the clubhouse.
Our under-16 footballers had an impressive win over An Chreathru Rua in the County ‘B’ Championship final played in Spiddal on Saturday. Despite the clearly expressed disappointment of the players in begin denied their opportunity to play the final in Pearse Stadium where all under-age finals were supposed to be played, they turned in a fine performance and were deserving winners. An Chreathru Rua were first to score despite our early pressure as we dominated the exchanges and they lead by two points before Dara Melia opened our scoring, Dara pointed again and Eanna Farrell put us a point up. Melia scored two more points from frees to give us a two point lead at the break 0-5 to 0-3 despite playing against the breeze. After the break the team from the west were showing signs of a strong comeback but a goal by Conor Furey virtually sealed the victory and with further points from Dara Melia (2) and one from Brian Creaven we ran out winners by 1.8 to 0.3 After the match captain Brian Creaven accepted the cup as team captain on behalf of the panel and he also received the ‘Man of the Match award. The panel was: Pakie Killilea, Jonathan Farragher, Paul Lynch, Cathal Creaven, Gearoid Reynolds, T.J.Forde, Eoghan Kavanagh, Brian Creaven, Jonathan Creaven, Patrick Healy, Andrew Golding, Conor Furey, Eanna Farrell, Dara Melia, Diarmuid Newell, Subs Garry Forde, Gavin Curry, Colm Pearse, Cillian Ryan, David Keane, Ciaran Fox, Andrew Dennigan, Gerard Forde, Joseph Flaherty and Conor McGrath. A special thanks to our sponsors Michael Newell (Newell Plumbing and Heating), Gerry Keane (Microcleans) and Noel Walsh Tilling and to Madge Burke who supplied the transport free on the day.
The Club A.G.M is on Wednesday night Dec 5th in the Clubhouse at 8.00 pm
We beat Kilkerrin-Clonberne in the Junior ‘C’ League semi-final on Sunday by one point 1-6 to 0-8 after having lead at the break also by one point 1-2 to 0-4. Team was: Padraic O’Neill, Patrick Burke, Niall Greaney, Paul Scully, Vivian Silke, Michael Curry (0-1) Shane Hession, Fergal Coleman, Ronan Curry, Brian O’Dowd, Mattie Coleman (0-1), Ger Rafftrey (0-3), Damien O’Dowd, Tom Forde (0-1) and Gerry Cahill (1-0) Subs used: Tadhg Killcommins, Jimmy Forde, Seamus Healy and Laurence Forde.
In the Junior ‘C’ hurling league we received a walk over from Ballindereen at the weekend.
Claregalway beat us in the County U-12 football final played in Pearse Stadium on Sunday.
Ladies Football
The U16 played Glenamaddy in the League Final last Saturday in Dunmore. They played well in the first half, keeping pace with Glenamaddy. Chloe Hughes made some spectacular saves and brilliant defensive work from Lillian Donoghue managed to keep Annaghdown in the race! However the second half saw Glenamaddy take control of the match and claim a deserved victory. Mariah Butler (Captain) led by example at midfield, as did Vanessa Creaven. Well done to their management team of Mickey Burke, Martina Coen and Margaret Creaven on bringing the team this far. Team: Chloe Hughes, Alison Burke, Lillian Donoghue, Amy Forde, Deirdre Scully, Cliona Killilea, Claire Delaney, Vanessa Creaven,Mariah Butler (Captain), Danielle Forde, Ciara Farragher, Rachel Murphy, Michelle Raftery, Amy Kerr, Ciara Naughton Niamh Higgins, Niamh Coen, Una Forde, Sarah Galvin, Katie Savage, Kimberly Savage, Katie Hurson and Orla Concannon.
There will be a meeting in the Clubhouse in Cregg on Thursday night 15th November at 9.00pm all members are asked to attend.