Annaghdown Win County U21 Football Final

November 8, 2018

Annaghdown 0-10
Micheal Breathnach 1-6
Annaghdown overcame Gaeltacht side Micheal Breathnachs in an exciting county U21 football final played in Pearse Stadium on Saturday evening.  Both sides started nervously and were level on 0-2 a piece after ten minutes, both Annaghdowns scores coming from of Mattias Coleman.  Playing with the elements Annaghdown controlled matters from then until the break with further scores from Mattias Coleman and Joey Farragher (2) to leave them two to the good on a 0-5 to 0-3 scoreline.  Playing into the Arus Bothar Na Tra end in the second half the Corribsiders faced an uphill battle and their chances took a futher blow after four second half minutes when the Connemara side goaled to leave them ahead 1-3 to 0-5.  Annaghdown to their credit battled bravely and had further scores from Mattias Coleman, Aidan Burke and Dara Melia (2) in a second half when the sides traded the lead on as many as four occusions.  A draw looked on the cards for much of that second half and again with the sides level 1-6 to 0-9 and time running out before Annaghdown’s Joey Farragher had the final score of the game to give the men in maroon and white the lead with just four minutes remaining.  Sustained Breathnach pressure in the final minutes proved fruitless and the men from the banks of Lough Corrib held on to win thier first ever U21 ‘A’ football title.
Team: Brian Lohan, Noel Burke, Pa Burke, Jonathan Creaven, Ian O Dowd, Enda Mullarkey, Brian O Dowd, Martin Scully, Wesley Fallon, Niall Farragher, Joey Farragher (0-3), Ciaran Duggan, Aidan Burke (0-1), Mattias Coleman (0-4), Dara Melia (0-2). Subs Daniel Dennigan for Niall Farragher and Stephen Kerr for Aidan Burke.