Annual General Meeting

November 8, 2018

PHOTO: New Chairman of Clonmore GFC, James Doyle.

The AGM of Clonmore GFC was held on Friday last in the Community Hall, Clonmore, before a good attendance.

Outgoing Chairman, Tom Doyle, reviewed a mixed year on the playing field which promised much but ended with no Championship silverware. The Intermediates won every match in the League to retain the Division 2 title, but the Championship was a disappointment. The Juniors also had a good League but unluckily exited the Championship in the First Round on a scoreline of 3-5 to 0-12 – a game they should have won. The U-21s got to the Final again and put in a great performance against a strong O’Hanrahans team before going down to a couple of late scores. The Minors played some exceptional football during the year and deservedly made it to the knockout stages of both the League and Championship. Tom thanked all the mentors and players for their efforts during 2012. He also said that the passing of stalwarts Mick Kelly and Les Humphries during the year was a cause of great sadness in the club.

The Juvenile club is going very well and Tom thanked Jim Whelan for his outstanding work and offered best wishes for 2013 to new Chairman, Brendan Ryan, and his Committee.

A detailed financial report from Treasurer, Juliana Garahy, showed that the club is in a healthy financial state at the moment thanks to the generous support of the local community, sponsors and participants in the weekly Lotto and the Golf Classics.

Tributes were paid to the officers who were not seeking re-election – Tom Doyle, Dermot Byrne and Paul Byrne – and they were thanked for their outstanding service to the club over a long number of years.

New Chairman, James Doyle, said he was looking forward to leading a hard working Committee and was in no doubt that, with renewed commitment and dedication, the talent is in the club to bring success in 2013.

The following officers were returned: President: Eddie Forde, Hon. Presidents: Denis Cullen, Fr James Gahan, Lily Purser, Jim Boland. Chairman: James Doyle, Vice-Chairman: Ger Doyle, Deputy Vice-Chairman: Paddy Lawlor, Secretary: Vacant, Asst. Sec: Clive Lambe, Treasurers: Jim Boland, Juliana Garahy, PROs Ger Doyle, Des Byrne, Insurance Officer: Paul Byrne, Membership Officer: Clive Lambe, Registrar: Dermot Byrne, County Board Delegate: Ger Doyle, Committee: Eugene Lawlor, Bobby Connolly, Jimmy Lawlor, Tommy Kelly, Paddy Quigley, Robert Rooney, John Connolly.