Athy are Minor Champions for 2008

November 8, 2018

On a historic day for Athy GFC the minors won the county final for the first time since 1973, impressively beating favourites Sarsfields with a truly awesome display.

One minute into the game the rain started and it looked like this was going to be a scrappy, close fought final.

Not so, as Athy played excellent football getting some magnificent scores throughout the day. The first of these was a point from Corey Moore in the 9th minute from wide on the right wing. Athy raced into an early 4 point lead, with points from Moore, two from Liam McGovern and one from James Eaton. Sarsfields were at sixes and sevens and 15 minutes had gone before they got their first point of the day. Athy’s two man forward line of James Eaton and Darroch Mulhall caused endless problems and in one-on-one situations these two will beat most defenders, even at senior level. Mulhall skipped past his man in the 17th minute and as he raced towards goal his shot just blazed over the bar. Three minutes later the same man capitalised on a poor kickout to send Athy into a 5 poimt lead. Further points from Eaton and Cian Reynolds put Athy into a commanding 0-8 to 0-1 lead. Sarsfields got two more points before the break, one from a free, while Eaton knocked over one more to leave Athy comfortably 0-9 to 0-3 ahead at half time.  

The Sash came out all guns blazing in the second half as expected and knocked over two early frees before a defining moment in the game came-Mulhall again beating his man, sprinting away and flicking the ball over the keeper as it bounced up. 1-9 to 0-5 and Athy were now firm favourites to take the game. Sarsfields kept fighting and kicked three more points between points from Daniel O’Keefe and one exceptional point from Tony Gibbons. 1-11 to 0-8 and things were getting tighter; another point from Sarsfields danger man Cahill then reduced the deficit to 5 points. In the 28th minute a long ball into the Sarsfields full back line saw midfielder Daniel O’Keefe rise highest to punch the ball into the back of the net. Elation for Athy as they extended their lead to 8 points with just minutes remaining. One final point from Sarsfields midfielder Sean Campbell was not enough to stop a possessed Athy team from claiming their long awaited minor title.

Fantastic scenes followed after the final whistle as the crowd flowed onto the pitch. Captain Brian Kinahan accepted the trophy while James Eaton picked up the man of the match award. The team went back to Athy to a roaring reception in Emily square and afterwards to the clubhouse where the celebrations went on for most of the night. Who knows when they will end!

Athy team: Paul Clynch, Alan Bowden, Joe Kinahan, T.J. Clare, Shane O’Brien, David McGovern, Tony Gibbons(0-1), Daniel O’Keefe(1-1), Brian Kinahan, Liam McGovern(0-2; 1f), Cian Reynolds(0-1), Corey Moore(0-1), Darroch Mulhall(1-2), James Eaton(0-3; 1f), Conor Ronan.

Subs used: Shane Brophy.