Ballina/Boher Parish and GAA Notes

November 8, 2018

AGM;    Following is  list of officers elected at recent AGM:  Life President: John Joe Maher, John Joe McKeogh: President: Patsy Nevin: Vice President: Fr Ted O Rahelly, Fr Enda Brady: Chairperson: Sarah Devane:  Secretary: John Gleeson: Ass Secretary: Paudie Sheehy: Treasurer: Caroline Nevin: P.R.O.: John Healy: Tipp Co Draw Co-Ord: Eugene Power: Reps to North Board: John Gleeson, Michael Hayes, Sarah Devane: Rep to Co Board: John Gleeson: Registrar: John Healy.


Sympathy:   Ballina GAA Club would like to extend its sympathy to the Coffey family, Cappamore, and the Doyle family, Holycross on the deaths of two Hurling Legends.   Ar dheis de go raibh a hanama


Wedding Bells:  Congratulations to Michael Kennedy, Gortglassobrien and Sarah Jane Woods, Bloomfield, Co. Monaghan: Brian Darcy, Inchamore and Laura McNamara, Kilkishen: Patrick Kennedy, Gortglassobrien and Sinead Kelly, Ryninch: Stephen Murray, Cnoc Cluain and Carole Deering, Co. Meath, who were married recently.

Feast of the Epiphany:  January 6th is a Holy Day of Obligation.  Vigil Mass on Wednesday, January 5th in Ballina at 6.30pm.  No 10am Mass on Wednesday morning.  Masses on Thursday: Boher 10.30am, Ballina 11.30am.

First Friday:  Next Friday, January 7th is the first Friday of January.  Mass in Ballina at 10am followed by Adoration and in Boher at 7.30pm followed by a half hour of Adoration.

Ballina Choir:  Would you like to be part of our Church Choir?  We are still recruiting.  Old and new members are welcome.  Give your name to Paul or Martina Collins on 086 8234464.

Boher Drama Group:  The postponed play will now be staged in Boher Parish Hall on Saturday and Sunday, January 8th and 9th at 8pm.  Admission: €10 which includes raffle tickets.  All proceeds in aid of a Defibrillator in our community.

Recently Deceased: Remember in your prayers the souls of Frida Barrett, Harbour View, Killaloe and Paddy McGuirk, father of Tom, Ard Coillte who died recently.

Lottery:  Winning Numbers:  1    8    14    15.    No winner.  Next Week’s Jackpot stands at €12,400.  Build up Jackpot:  €4,600    €30 Lucky Dip Winners:  Martin McKeogh, Ballyea: Dorothy Galwas, Ballycorrigan: Ann McCarthy, Cullina: Olive Deane, Cullina: Shamus Larkin, On line Winner.   Next Week’s draw will take place in the Seanachaoi Bar on Monday, January 10th, at 9pm.                                                                                                   The Lotto can now be done on-line.  Log onto, click on Ireland, then Tipperary and scroll down to the Ballina GAA and Parish site.  One Lucky Dip is dedicated to those who play on-line every week.

Ballina GAA and Parish Lotto Build Up:   As you know, our Jackpot figure now stands at €12,400.   A  Build Up Jackpot is now underway and presently stands at €4,600.  As long as the main Jackpot is not won, each Jackpot figure will receive the €200 bonus every second week.