Ballivor U12 match report - Ballivor Unlucky

November 7, 2018

Venue:  Ballivor

Home Team: Ballivor

Opposition: Kilbride

Competition: League

Half Time: Ballivor 1-2 Kilbride 2-0

Full Time Score: Ballivor 3-3 Kilbride 5-3

Ballivor Team: R. Sheridan; D. Heavey; J. Doyle; L. Hynes; S. McGourty; M. Callaghan; J. Smyth; L. Doyle; C. Prouse (0-1); A. Troy; B. McKeon (1-1); K. Byrne; James Kelly (0-1); C. McMahon (2-0); Jake Kelly

Subs: D. Molloy (On for L. Hynes); A. Brennan (On for K. Byrne); M. Clarke (On for James Kelly); A. McEvoy (On for A. Troy); P. Carroll; T. Heavey; R. Ryan


A disappointing result for Ballivor and they will leave this game feeling that they should have gotten something out of it. After the disappointing display last week, Ballivor were determined to perform as a team and, this is what they did. They moved to an early lead with a goal and a point but soon Kilbride were right back in it with a goal of their own. A second point from Ballivor after some sustained pressure increased the lead to 2 points but that lead was short lived as Kilbride responded with a second goal. The conditions were against freeflowing football, but that was not evident in the end to end nature of the game, though scoring was difficult. At half time, the gap was a single point with advantage Kilbride. Kilbride extended the lead in the second half with a couple of fortuitous goals, while Ballivor were having difficulty converting their chances at the other end. Ballivor stepped up the pressure and began to find their ranbge as the game drew to a close but time was against the team and though they did pull back a couple of goals, the gap was just too great to overturn. In the end, there was disappointment for Ballivor but they could leave the field knowing that it was a much improved performance right across the team and, on the day, luck just deserted them. this is the way of football and i am sure that the team will be back with another strong performance in our next game.

Scorers Full Names:

Conor Prouse (0-1); Brendan McKeon (1-1); James Kelly (0-1); Christopher McMahon (2-0);