Ballygarvan 3-13 Aghada 0-11

November 8, 2018

27th May 2011

Intermediate Hurling Championship

in Páirc Uí Rinn

Ballygarvan 3-13 Aghada 0-11

Half-time Ballygarvan 2-3 Aghada 0-6

Ballygarvan had an excellent start to the Intermediate Hurling Championship with a comprehensive win over Aghada in the first round. The game started evenly enough, until Ken Ashman and Dan McCarthy scored two quick goals and Ballygarvan were very much in control. McCarthy, in his first intermediate championship outing, laid on the first for Ashman and again found enough space to convert the second. Aghada reduced the lead to just three points at half time.

Ballygarvan backs battled hard though out the 70 minutes, with Stephen White playing a pivotal role in keeping Aghada at bay, but also in attack, scoring two points from play, and also combining with McCarthy for his second goal of the evening. William McCarthy, was also very solid in the full back line, winning a lot of very hard fought ball, and clearing it. 

Both teams finished with 14 after a scuffle with less than ten minutes to go, but with a lead of 3-11 to 0-8 at the time, the result was almost a forgone conclusion. Aghada fought back with three unanswered points. Kennefick converted another free and Stephen White scoring the final point, culmination of his performance of the night. 

Ballygarvan team: Liam Dillon; Ciarán O’ Sullivan, Shane O’ Leary, William McCarthy; Derry O’ Sullivan, Stephen White, Damien O’ Sullivan; Gary White, Matthew O’ Riordan; Ger Spillane, Joe Spillane, Ken Ashman; Dan McCarthy, Tadg Quilligan, Mark Kennefick. Subs: James Browne for Joe Spillane

Aghada team: Martin Daly; Billy Hennessey, John Paul O’ Connor, Kieran O’ Connor; Stephen Cashman, Tom O’ Neill, Michael Russell; Cian Fleming, Ger Mervin; Pearse O’ Neill, Eoin Healy, Eoin Savage; Mick Galvin, Trevor O’ Keeffe, Tony Wall. Subs: Aidan O’ Connell for Stephen Cashman and Willy Leahy for Tony Wall. 

Ballygarvan scorers: Dan McCarthy 2-1, Mark Kennefick 0-7 (0-5f, 0-1 65), Ken Ashman 1-2, Stephen White 0-2 and Tadg Quilligan 0-1. 

Aghada scorers: Trevor O’ Keeffe 0-4 (0-1 f, 0-1 65), Cian Fleming 0-3, Eoin Savage 0-2, Willy Leahy & John Paul O’ Connor 0-1 each. 

Referee: Kevin Murphy (Nemo Rangers)