Barna and St Michael's must do it all again!

November 8, 2018

Barna’s survival instincts clicked in just at the right time in Tuam Stadium on Sunday as they salvaged a draw against St Michael’s in the semi-final of the Galway senior football championship.

Indeed, having recovered from being three points down, heading into the final stretch, Pat Fallon’s men raised four white flags in a row to hit the front with just minutes remaining, and were leading 0-12 to 0-11.

However, St Michael’s were awarded a ‘soft’ free deep in injury time which was converted by Greg Rogan to draw the game.

In the end, both sides will feel they could have won it – and lost it – yet both would have been happy enough to get another chance to qualify for their first ever county final.

Corofin, who hammered Milltown by 24 points in the other semi-final, await the winners in the final, which is scheduled to go ahead on October 19.

 St Michael’s started the brighter and were 0-3 up after just six minutes. But Barna took over in the following six minutes at it was level pegging thanks to two converted placed balls from Jason Lyons – who tallied six in all – and a point from Paddy Kennedy.

Alan Glynn and Lyons (free) exchanged points but St Michael’s then finished the half stronger with a brace from Frank Daly and Eddie Hoare. Ray Conneely split the posts in the closing stages, which left three points between them at half-time Barna 0-5 St Michael’s 0-8.

St Michael’s, after the restart, kept Barna at bay and when Eddie Hoare converted his third point of the day, the city team were leading by three, 0-11 to 0-8.

A quick burst of points, however, a brace from Lyons (one free) and Declan Walsh, levelled matters before, in injury time, substitute DD Flaherty landed his second of the day, which looked like it might be the winner to cap off an incredible comeback.

Barna will be pleased that once again in this year’s championship, their fighting qualities and never say die attitude has earned them another chance in the replay, for which St Michael’s are already installed as favourites.

Barna scorers: Declan Walsh (0-1), Paddy Kennedy (0-2), Ray Conneely (0-1), Jason Lyons (0-6, 5f), DD Flaherty (0-2).