Barna lads feature in Ted Webb success

November 8, 2018

Galway City-West 1-10

Mayo East-West 1-4

By Noel Carney

Underage football in the county, on a high after the great provincial minor success, got another boost when Galway City-West under-16 footballers impressively won the Connacht title and the Ted Webb Cup at the Centre of Excellence, Bekan last Friday evening.

It was great achievement by the Galway lads but the victory was marred by injuries late on to two players, Oisín Connolly (ankle ligament) and his replacement, Paul Walsh, (knee) who were both injured after falling awkwardly under challenges.

It was an unfortunate conclusion to a game that saw the Galway lads fight back after trailing 1-1 to no score after Aron Walsh’s goal and James Finnerty’s point.

A fine score by Oisín Connolly helped settle them and even though Matt Lenehan drove over for Mayo Galway replied with a superb Martin Kerrigan goal.

Evan Murphy who was outstanding kicked a great point for Galway and Kerrigan added another to leave them tied on 1-3 apiece at the break after Gavin Durcan’s free went over for Mayo. The home side lost midfielder Sean Keane to a black card but Galway’s Barry Callanan met a similar fate.

City-West then moved into a higher gear. Luke Smyth’s point lifted Galway and Evan Murphy with 0-3 offset a Gavin Durcan free. Luke Roche, Oisín Connolly and Cillian Dolan also weighed in with excellent individual scores.

 The winners who were without Claregalway’s Keelan Grainger, a key forward, were coached by Diarmuid Lee (Moycullen), Kieran Collins and Cosmas Gilmore (Barna) the former Longford and Leinster Railway Cup star.

Galway: Aodh Bohan (Barna); Eoin McFadden (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Barry Callanan (Claregalway), Ewan Heapes (Salthill-Knocknacarra); Luke Roche (Claregalway, 0-1), Matthew Kilgallen (Claregalway), Niall Mulcahy (Máigh Cuilinn); Evan Murphy (Salthill-Knocknacarra, 0-4, one free), Seán Mulkerrins (Oileáin Árainn, captain); John Conneely (Clifden), Max Payton (Máigh Cuilinn), Daniel Kenny (Oughterard); Luke Smyth (Oranmore-Maree, 0-1), Oisín Connolly (Claregalway, 0-2), Martin Kerrigan (An Fhairche, 1-1). Subs used: Cillian Dolan (Craughwell, 0-1), Maitias Bairéad (Leitir Mór), Paul Walsh (Oughterard), Nathan Ward (St. Michael’s).

Mayo: K. Lavelle; L. Moffitt, G. Durcan (0-2, frees), P. McLoughlin; C. Beirne, C. Hunt, S. Hegarty; S. Keane, J. Dawson; C. O’Toole, M. Lenehan (0-1), J. Joyce; J. Finnerty (0-1), A. Walsh (1-0), J. Kearney. Subs: O. Burns, M. Brady, K. Phillips, J. Geraghty, N. Geraghty.

Referee: Barry Judge (Sligo).