Big win for intermediate team in intermediate secondary league. Swinford 1-2 Mayo Gaels 1-13

November 8, 2018

Swinford 1-2 Mayo Gaels 1-13

Mayo Gaels recorded their second win of their intermediate secondary league campaign in an easily contested win over Swinford on Saturday evening.

The Gaels got off to a flying start with Joe Gilroy unlucky with a goal attempt in the opening minutes of the game. Danny Burke pointed for the Gaels on the 3rd minute before Johnny Griffin set Neil McGurrin up for another point. Swinford got their name on the score sheet with a point on the 9th minute of the half followed by a point from play from Johnny Griffin. Neil McGurrin got his name on the score sheet once again as did Danny Burke adding another point to the Gaels tally. The Gaels managed to get three more points on the board before the halftime whistle courtesy of Johnny Griffin free, Neil McGurrin and Danny Burke from play to settle a half time score line of Mayo Gaels 0-8 Swinford 0-1.

A free from Johnny Griffin in the opening minute saw Danny Burke fist the ball to the back of the net leaving the Gaels ten points clear. Danny added two more frees for the Gaels before Swinford got off the mark with a point on the 20th minute. A fine fetch by Paul McGing in the centre of the field reached Danny Burke for a point on the 21st minute of the half. Cathal Vahey industrious as every in the goal mouth saved the Gaels back on many occasions through out the game particularly in the second half. The closing minutes of the half saw Swinford notch up a goal, Johnny Griffin pointing with a free before Joe Gilroy got the Gaels the last point of the day with a well taken point from play on the 29th minute to leave a full time score line of Mayo Gaels 1-13 to Swinford’s 1-2.
Despite the large deficit it was a great performance from the intermediate side with all sectors putting in a fine, hardworking performance ahead of their opening league game against Lahardane next weekend.
Mayo Gaels team: Cathal Vahey, Ally Brett, Adrian Heneghan, Noel Morris, Jonathan Sloyan, Niall Brett, Shane Vahey, Sean Boyle, Mark Nally, Neil McGurrin (0-3), Johnny Griffin (0-3, 2f), Joe Gilroy (0-1), Dermot Browne, James Fallon, Danny Burke (1-6, 2f). Subs: Aidan Jennings for Neil McGurrin (inj), Stephen Gibbons for Sean Boyle (inj.), Paul McGing fro Dermot Browne.