Bride Rovers G.A.A. Club weekly notes and news round-up.

November 8, 2018

Junior A Footballers Bow out of championship.

It may be still only the month of April but our Junior Football Championshiop aspirations for 2011 are over. In our fourth game in a little over a month on Sunday night last we lost  to Castlemartyr by a margin of four points  0  13 to   1  6.

Forced to field without eight players in Lisgoold the team put up a typical brave Rovers performance but the handicap of being without so many players told in the end. Points from Colm O Keeffe and Barry Johnson saw us ahead by  0 2 to 01 after twelve minutes. As the first half wore on the Reds got on top and led by  0   7 to 0  3 at the break. We started the second half in a very determined mood and a Sean O Brien point reduced the defecit to just a goal. In the third quarter we actually had more possession than Castlemartyr but couldn’t get the scores on the board. Pat Walsh had an excellent point before we conceded five points in as row to         go behind by twelve points to six. We were right back in the game when Georgie Johnson expertly converted a penalty. This left just a goal between the sides with seven minutes left. We tried hard for scores but failed to score again and Castlemartyr got an ‘insurance’ point to leave them winners by 0  13 to 1  6.

They say it’s all about winning but fair play to the sixteen players who took part in the game. They showed terrific heart and determination against all the odds. As coach Vincent Cronin said afterwards the players gave of their very best but just came up short on the night.


Team Richie Cahill, Jim O Connor, Brendan O Driscoll, Fergus Collins, Trevor Moloney, Liam Forde, Pa O Driscoll, Sean O Brien(0  2), Mike Kearney, Pat Walsh (0 1), Terry Broderick, Jason Mannix, Alan O Keeffe, Barry Johnson ( 0  2), Colm O Keeffe(0 1), Sub Georgie Johnson ( 1  0 )

 Junior Hurling V Churchtown.

On Thursday of last week Avondhu side Churchtown were visitors to Rathcormac for a challenge game. After a very close game we came out on top by a single point, 2   8 to   0  12.  Pane of players:  Frank Hogan, Barry Collins, James Murphy, Tomas Kearney, Fergus Collins, Stephen Boyce, Jim O’Connor, Michael Kearney, Sean O’Brien, Stephen Pratt, Alan O’Keeffe, Stephen O’Leary, Damien Buckley, Nevin O’Regan, Eoin Murphy, Liam O’Leary, Daniel Lane, Jason Mannix, Donal Arnold, Kieran Wolfe, William O’Leary.

Scorers:  Alan O’Keeffe 0-5, Eoin Murphy 1-1, Michael Kearney 1-0, Damien Buckley 0-2.