Bride Rovers GAA Club notes and news round-up...

November 8, 2018


We had three hurling League games in the last week, two in the Senior Hurling League and our third game in Division Two of the East Cork Hurling League.

Senior Hurling League V Glen Rovers at Rathcormac on Wednesday May 10th. 

For some reason this game drew a large attendance -probably due to the 2010 c.ship clash, and Club Cathaoirleach James Bermingham is to be thanked for handling matters.  He ensured that the numbers on the sideline were reduced and this made for a better spectacle for all present.

We played against a strong wind on the first half and after 12 minutes the sides were level on 3 points each. Some great long range points by the Glen gave them the edge and  by half-time the Blackpool side led on a scoreline of 1-10 to 0-6.

We opened the second half  brightly  and our defence was on top but scores were hard to come by and in fact all our scores in the 2nd half came from placed balls. No quarter was asked for or given by either team but we failed to convert some opportunities.  The Glen were restricted to two points from frees.

The final whistle saw the Glen ahead by 1-12 to 0-11.

Scorers:   Colm O’Keeffe 0-5, Liam Forde 0-3,  Denis Fitzgerald 0-2 and Jason Mannix 0-1.

 Team:   Denis Fitzgerald, Aidan Collins, Brendan Walsh, Trevor Moloney, Brendan O’Driscoll, Barry Murphy, Liam Forde, Jason Pratt, Stephen Boyce, Michael Kearney, Brian Murphy, Sean O’Brien, Jason Mannix, Alan O’Keeffe and Colm O’Keeffe.   Subs Used:    Eoin Murphy, Donal Ryan, Pat Walsh and Shane Kearney.

East Cork Junior Hurling League Division Two V Killeagh in Killeagh, Friday May 12th.

 We travelled to Killeagh for this ‘top of the table’ clash with  both teams unbeaten to date.

We started well and had the Killeagh defence under pressure and a few nice scores were secured with some good combination play. A bad defensive lapse allowed Killeagh in for a goal which had the half-time score at 0-8 to 1-5. We were under severe pressure early in the second half and conceded a few scores from frees. A fortutious goal from a line-ball  by Terry Broderick brought us back into the game and 3 pointed  frees gave us control. Killeagh then were thwarted in their efforts to secure further scores and two good breakaways yielded 2 points from play. At the final whistle we were ahead by 1-13 to 1-10.

Scorers:     Terry Broderick 1-3, Pat Walsh 0-4, Colm O’Keeffe 0-3, Liam Forde 0-1, Jason Mannix 0-1 and Alan O’Keeffe 0-1.

Team:   Frank Hogan, James Murphy, Brendan O’Driscoll, Tomas Kearney, Patrick O’Driscoll, Liam Forde, Jim O’Connor, Michael Kearney, Stephen Boyce, Sean O’Brien, Terry Broderick, Pat Walsh, Eoin  Murphy, Alan O’Keeffe and Jason Mannix. Subs Used:    Gavin Quill and Colm O’Keeffe.

We have played three and won three games in this League to date. Our remaining games are against Cloyne, Dungourney, Midleton, Dungourney and St. Itas.

Senior Hurling League V  Cloyne at Cloyne, Sunday May 15th.

We played against the strong wind in the 1st half and were slow to settle. Cloyne built up a 3 point lead. Our defence were under a lot of pressure but once we settled down we came well into the game and were behind by just 2 points at half-time on a score of 0-7 to 0-5(In fact our score was 0-6 but the referee refused to give us one point despite the fact that both umpires said that we scored 6 points-he stated that the flag was not raised for one score, so even if the sliotar goes straight between the posts a score is not to be awarded unless the white flag flutters!). 

With the wind on the resumption we settled in well and scored 1-2 before Cloyne were on the board. We had some good combination play in the second half and some excellent scores and it was good to see some of the previously injured players back on the field of play. Colm O’Keeffe came on at half-time and during the second half Donal Ryan and Jim O’Connor replaced David Burke and Barry Murphy.

We finished well in control and the final score was 2-15 to 1-11. This was our first win in this years Senior Hurling League and comes at a good time with the Na Piarsaigh game coming up in a few weeks

Scorers:   Barry Johnson 0-8, Sean Ryan 1-3, Jerome O’Driscoll 1-2, and David Burke 0-2.

Team:   Denis Fitzgerald, Aidan Collins, Brendan Walsh, Trevor Moloney, Brendan O’Driscoll, Barry Murphy, Liam Forde, Shane Kearney, Jason Pratt, Barry Johnson, David Burke, Stephen Boyce, Jason Mannix, Sean Ryan and Jerome O’Driscoll.