Bride Rovers GAA Club Notes For The Week.

November 8, 2018

Footballers win Championship

At Castlelyons last Sunday afternoon, our Junior ‘B’ Footballers captured the 2009 East Cork Championship. Giving a sparkling display of attacking football we won this title for the third time in our Club’s history. Our first win came in 1981, the second in 1993 and now our third in 2009. Last Saturday’s win came after an ‘autumn campaign’ at the end of which the final was down for decision at least three times in November. It was put off for various and no reasons but in the end it all turned out well with a marvellous display on Saturday last.

Having accounted for Youghal, St Catherines and Aghada en route to this final, we were confident of the team’s ability but no one expected the outcome we witnessed on Saturday. From the throw in by Ger Sweeney, we attacked the Russell Rovers defence. Within fifteen seconds we had the green flag waving. A quick movement saw Sean Ryan give a perfect pass to Padraig Murphy who made no mistake with a great goal. Barry Johnson added a point and we’d got the perfect start to the game. After this we kicked four wides in a row. Sean Ryan then got two points to put us 1-3 to 0-0 ahead. We were completely dominant in the game in the first quarter. Our defence ably marshalled by team captain Alan Broderick, Trevor Moloney and Pat Barry was rarely troubled. Our half backs Podge O’Brien, Barry Murphy and Tomás Kearney ensured a plentiful supply of all up front. In the 14th minute Brian Murphy struck for a brilliant goal and less than a minute later Donal Ryan repeated the act to leave us up by 3-3 to 0-0. Our forwards were flying with the two Jasons, Pratt and Mannix (both born in 1993, the last year we won this title!) causing endless problems for the Russell Rovers defence. After Jason Pratt was fouled going through in the 18th minute, Barry pointed the resultant free.
Four minutes later Jason Pratt added a point to make it 3-5. In a rare attack Russell Rovers got through for a goal. Any chance of a revival by the Shanagarry side was soon thwarted. In the 24th minute Brian Murphy netted his second goal. Further points from Michael Collins and Jason Mannix put us 4-7 to 1-0 ahead at the break. We were clearly on top and considering we kicked eight wides it was obvious that we were well over Russell Rovers. The second half started like the first as we had attack after attack but we failed to clock up more scores. We had four wides in the first ten minutes of the second half. After the flood of scores in the fist thirty minutes, the second period was very defensive. Though we weren’t scoring and adding to our tally, neither did our opponents. In the 16th minute Russell Rovers were awarded a penalty. One felt that if they converted this shot a comeback was still possible. Georgie Johnson in goals was up for the challenge and made a great save.
Though Russell Rovers did later add 1-2 to their tally, the penalty save was vital and Georgie in his twenty fourth season as an adult footballer, showed tremendous agility in saving the well struck shot. Our only score of the second half, a point came from Jason Pratt. By that stage Shane Murphy, Barry Hazelwood and Declan Quinlan had all gone on as subs. Ger Sweeney’s final whistle saw us winners of our third title on a scoreline of 4-8 to 2-2. This was a great win, true we had a very strong ‘second string’ for the 2009 season, but the team still had to perform and in their four games they played some great football. Chairman of the East Cork Board, Michael O’Brien, presented the Boig Coleman Cup to delighted team captain Alan Broderick. In accepting the trophy Alan thanked all the players and supporters.
He had special praise for Vincent Cronin, Shane O’Connor, Pat Walsh and Tom Kearney who was captain in 1981, played in 1993 and was now a selector. Alan then asked for 3 cheers for Russell Rovers. Well done lads on a great victory. After the heartbreak of the narrow loss to Carrignavar in the 2008 final, this was a welcome win.
Team & Scorers: Georgie Johnson, Alan Broderick (Capt), Trevor Moloney, Pat Barry, Podge O’Brien, Barry Murphy, Tomás Kearney, Barry Johnson (0-2), Sean Ryan (0-2), Jason Mannix (0-1), Michael Collins (0-1), Brian Murphy (2-0), Padraig Murphy (1-0), Donal Ryan (1-0), Jason Pratt (0-2).

Subs: Shane Murphy, Barry Hazelwood, Declan Quinlan.

The team that won our first Junior ‘B’ Title in 1981 was Paul Murphy, Declan Kearney, Tommy O’Flynn, Liam Cahill, Anthony Cahill, Tom Kearney (Capt), Tadgh O’Donovan, Paudie Collins, Moss Dooley, Cyril Johnson, James Maye, Tom Mulcahy, Jimmy Johnson, Richie Cotter, Connie Barry.
In 1993 our winning team was Pat Mannix, Tom Kearney, Mike Hogan, Liam Barry, Barry Hogan, Anthony Cahill, John Joe Barry (Capt), John A Murphy, Tom Mulcahy, Pat Barry, Batt O’Connell, Pat Walsh, Dermot ‘Georgie’ Johnson, Andrew O’Flynn, John O’Dowd.
Our full list of results in winning the 2009 East Cork Junior ‘B’ Grade Football Championship was as follows:

First Round defeated Youghal by 4-8 to 2-7

Second Round defeated St Catherines by 3-5 to 0-8

Semi Final defeated Aghada 2-9 to 1-7

Final defeated Russell Rovers by 4-8 to 2-2



Last Sunday the East Cork final of the Scór na bPáistí was held in the Community Centre in Watergrasshill. The Bride Rovers Club was represented by two teams in the Figure Dancing and also in the Novelty Act. All our participants performed very well but unfortunately did not find favour with the adjudicators in either section. Well done to all who took part and a big ‘thank you’ to their teachers. The County Final of the Scór Sinnsear will take place on this Sunday night February 21st at 7pm in the Éire Óg GAA Pavilion in Ovens. We are taking part in the Novelty Act Final with ‘It’s a Miracle’. Cloyne and Millstreet provide the opposition. Best of luck to all concerned.


Snooker Classic

Next Monday night February 22nd is Snooker Night in the SG1 venue in Fermoy. It promises to be a Gala Occasion when a re-match of the Black Ball Final of 25 years ago takes place. Two of the games superstars Steve Davis and Dennis Taylor will put their wits against each other. Tickets are just €20 each, while V.I.P. tickets can be purchased at €50. Tickets can be purchased from Liam Barry (087) 6893829, Michael Carey (087) 9808973 and James Bermingham (086) 8350741 or from Club Finance members.


Switch to Vodafone

With Vodafone Support Your Club, move today and give back to your club. All Vodafone Ireland customers can sign up to Vodafone Support Your GAA Club and we’ll donate 5% of your Pay Monthly bill or Top Up to your local GAA Club – at no extra cost to you. To sign up or switch to Vodafone, visit

Contact James Bermingham at (086)8350741 for further details



Division 2 East Cork Junior Football League

Sunday February 21st away v Castlemartyr @ 3pm

Thursday February 25th away v Castlelyons @ 8pm