Bride Rovers Juvenile Club notes for the week.

November 8, 2018


On Saturday last we travelled to Aghada to compete in the east Cork hurling blitz. We entered two teams of ten a side in the competition but on the day we had only seventeen players. We were missing seven boys who were on the age. Four boys were playing in an under 12 game in the afternoon. The idea was to have our boys born in 2OOO play in the highest grade and boys born in 2OO1 play in B grade section however due to the numbers we used all players in the two sections. We started the day with 5 ten year olds and 12 nine year olds. The format was the go games system three seven min periods per game. First up was a game against Fr O Neills in a great game end to end the game ended in a draw. Next game against St Catherines we played all our nine year old boys but St Catherines proved too strong. Next up was our old foes Sarsfield where we had only five boys on the age we put it up to Sars but it the end they won by four points the lads can be proud of their display here. Next up for the nine year old boys was the host club Aghada again this was their only team so the boys were up against it but they put up a great fight and only lost by a point. Last game for older boys was against Cobh here it was a close game where we came out on top by a few points. Last game for nine year olds was a game against  Sars nine year olds this was the boys best display of the day despite playing 1OO mins of hurling already, here we came out comprehensive winners over the glanmire boys. Well done to all the boys who played and thanks to the parents who brought the boys and stayed to encouraged the lads for over four hours. All boys got a medal on the day. Thanks to the Aghada GAA club for a well run competition. Team panel for the day Conor Barry, Ciaran Nugent, Ben Hogan, Eoin Roche, Jordan Mannix, Cian Hogan, Craig O’Callaghan, Joe Twomey, Kieran Kearney, Thomas Macek, Patrick O’Flynn, Matthew Quinn, Michael Quinlan, Oisin Roche, Seamus Ahern, Jack Ryan and Shaun Knox.





Our U12 hurlers played the first round of the county last Saturday in Carrigtwohil. Our opponents on the day were Passage West.  We got our opening point from Dylan after John delivered a great free out of defence. Leon then sent a great pass to Jordan S who scored a point followed by Shane O’C getting a pass from Dylan which he also popped over the bar. Passage went on the attack at this stage and our defence had to be solid which they did well with Jack and Adam working together to make some great clearances. Passage got through for a point which was to be their only score of the first half as Shane between the posts saved any shot they had on goal while DJ and Brian aided with clearing the ball. We sent a number of balls wide before Griffin was fouled and Jessie sent the ball over the bar. This was followed by a lovely move from Shane O’C passing to Conleth then on to Jordan who sent the ball to the net. We continued to attack with Griffin linking up with Dylan and Jessie who sent the ball over the bar. Then Dylan and Shane O’C linking for Dylan to score a point followed by Jordan S scoring his second goal a great finish to the first half.

We were well on top as we started the second half with our backs working overtime to ensure Passage scored were kept to a minimum. Passage got through for 2 points while Dylan scored his first goal of the game. Adam sent the ball to the forwards again with Dylan getting through for his second goal. Passage were finding scored hard to come by as our backs were working overtime but they did get through for a goal and 3 points throughout the second half. Mark, Eoin, Tadgh and Jordan were introduced and showed the quality of subs this team has.  We finished well with Dylan scoring his hat trick and Jessie getting a goal. Other subs were Dean, Patrick and Ben

Panel: Shane O’Flynn, Jack Conor, DJ Cahill, John O’Sullivan, Adam O’Sullivan, Brian Roche, Leon O’Flynn, Griffin O’Sullivan, Jessie Barry O’Keeffe, Shane O’Connor, Jordan Service, Conleth Ryan, Dylan Browne, Tadhg Sheehan, Mark Connolly, Jordan Mannix, Eoin Roche, Ben Hogan, Dean Browne, Patrick o’Flynn