Carrigdhoun Cup Junior A football: Carrigaline 0-6 Ballygarvan 3-16

November 8, 2018

Carrigdhoun Cup Junior A football: Carrigaline 0-6 Ballygarvan 3-16

27th March 2011

Carrigdhoun Cup Junior Football League


Result: Carrigaline 0-6 Ballygarvan 3-16

(Half-time: Carrigaline 0-3 Ballygarvan 2-10)

Ballygarvan had another convincing win over Carrigaline, this time in the Junior Football league.

Ballygarvan welcomed back Ger Spillane from the injury with he sustained in the Cork league match versus Kerry early in February and thankfully, Ger managed to play the full match and played very well at centre back.

Gary White stormed into the game, scoring his first point with less than a minute gone; he added another point from a converted free and a goal after a one on one with the Carrigaline keeper. Joe Spillane added a second goal after he powered his way in close to goal and with another point from Matthew O’ Riordan and less than 15 minutes gone, Ballygarvan were leading 2-3 to 0-1. After such an excellent start, it was difficult for Carrigaline to come back against a very formidable Ballygarvan side. To credit Ballygarvan, they did not rest on the lead either, but continued to battle for every ball. Tadg Quilligan had a very good game at midfield picking up a lot of loose ball, which is a very positive sign when he isn’t long back from a shoulder injury.

Ballygarvan face Clann na nGael next in the league, on Friday 1st April at 8.00pm in Ballygarvan. (All fixtures are subject to change)

Ballygarvan: Jack Murphy; Mark O’ Callaghan, John Barron, James Browne; Stephen White, Ger Spillane, Daniel McSweeney; David Stafford, Tadg Quilligan; Damien O’ Sullivan, Joe Spillane, Liam Dillon; Gary White, Ken Ashman, Matthew O’ Riordan. Subs: Peter Murphy for Mark O’ Callaghan, Fergal Ahern for Liam Dillon, Brendan O’ Leary for Ken Ashman (inj), Mark O’ Callaghan for Damien O’ Sullivan (inj).

Ballygarvan scores: Gary White (1-7)(0-2f), Joe Spillane (1-1), Liam Dillon (1-1), Ken Ashman (0-2), Matthew O’ Riordan, Stephen White, Tadg Quilligan, Damien O’ Sullivan and Peter Murphy (0-1) each.