Castleknock Boys win U13 PJ Troy Hurling Tournament

November 7, 2018

U13 Hurling vs Naomh Fionbarra

Result: 1 to 0

As most of the club we’re visiting and admiring the great work going on in Somerton on our new pitches, our U13 hurlers were proudly representing the club on pitches further afield by competing in Division 2 of the annual PJ Troy hurling tournament, and what a day it was as the boys became the first hurling team in the club’s short history to win this prestigious hurling tournament.
It was a scorching hot day in the foothills of the Dublin Mountains and the hurling on display matched the weather. Our hosts Thomas Davis provided a great venue and superb hospitality and also great opposition in the final group games. Seven clubs were represented in the Division 2 competition…Thomas Davis, Castleknock, Naomh Fionbarra, Sc Ui Chonaill, St Brigids, St Sylvesters and Skerries Harps and it was the Skerries lads that Castleknock played first. A good display from the Dublin 15 boys got them off to a winning start.
After lunch, provided by the host club, it was down to serious hurling and a hard fought draw with Thomas Davis. Davis then went on to beat Naomh Fionbarra by 6 pts meaning Castleknock had to beat the Cabra boys by more than 6 points to seal the trophy. A superb hard fought 8 point victory against a big physical Finbarrs side sealed a win and a place in the Castleknock Hurling & Football Club’s history book.
The victory was just reward for all the hard work and training the boys have put in this year. We have a big squad but luckily all players have bought into the idea that we are a 25 man team and not just 15.They are a credit to the club. We are also lucky to have great support from our group of parents (and grandparent…you know who you are!).
U13 Hurling Squad…Alex Hannigan, Cian Kelly, Daniel Carroll, Sean Cummins, Michael McKiernan, Conor Gormally, Kevin Stephenson, Colum Breslin, Shane Coffey, Jordan Toland, Sean Dunning, Luke Whelan, Kane Hogan, Cathal Sheerin, Richie McInerney, Eoin McDonald-Kelly, Daire Murphy, Daragh Conway, Adam Coffey, Aidan O’Gara, Ciaran Fay, Colum McGovern, Donal Heveran, Michael McCloskey, Jamie Holland