Castlewellan are the Ulster league division 5 winners for 2009.

November 8, 2018

Match Report By: Aodhán Mac Ruairi
Seaimpíní Uladh Roinn 5
Castlewellan are the Ulster league division 5 winners for 2009. The town defeated Cappagh Gaels from Killyclogher County Tyrone in a tense tight final played under lights at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh. It was the Tír Eoghain men who settled first and raced into a two point lead before points from Ray Cunningham and Cormac Mc Cabe brought the greens into the game. Two frees from Thomas Jennings brought the sides level and the town began to get on top. The introduction of Finnbarr Lennon to centre half back on twenty minutes had a positive impact with Stephen Rodgers moved to the corner. The town half back line and midfield were now on song winning every break ball and it was no surprise when a goal from Neil Johnston was followed by another by Rodgers and at half-time Castlewellan led on a scoreline of 2-4 to 0-4. The only downside was an injury to Cormac Mc Cabe after a heavy tackle which curtailed his early enterprising attacking play.
On the restart Castlewellan were first out of the blocks with a fine Neil Mc Veigh point. An opportunist Capagh goal seemed to breathe life into their challenge but two points from Ray kept the town five clear with ten minutes to go. Capagh pressed hard for another goal but Daniel Steele pulled off a great stop and his full back line stood firm as the Tyrone men had their best spell. With the score at 2-8 to 1-8 it was fitting that Man of the Match Turbo got the insurance point from a 30 metre free. Final score 2-9 1-8.
Every player played his part on a historic night for Hurling in the parish. This is tangible reward for a panel and management who have worked tirelessly since January and they deserve every success that comes their way. However there is little time to celebrate with Warrenpoint providing the challenge in the junior county final next week.
D. Steele, C. Gallagher, P. McCabe, R. McCann, M. óg Keown, S. Rodgers (1.0), A. Ritchie, C. Daly, T. Jennings (0.3), C. McCabe, R. Cunningham (0.4), J. Croskery, M. McPhillips, N, McVeigh (0.2), N. Johnston (1.0).
Subs: A. Keown, F. Lennon, M. McCay, C. McCann, D. Morgan, R. Laverty, C. McCartan, F. O’Maolcraoibhe, P. Ward, B. McAlinden, C. Jennings, O. Hardy,