Champs Carras in cruise control

November 8, 2018

Courtesy of The Western People

County Minor Football League Division 3 – Final

CARRAS 3-15      ARDNAREE 1-9

Michael Gallagher in Parke:        

THE wind might have howled down the pitch and the grass might have been a   bit on the long side but that didn’t prevent the creation and production of some breathtaking scores, in Parke, as Carras captured league honours.

The amalgamation were backed by the breeze in the opening half but failed to take a grip of proceedings and it was the boys from Ardnaree who set the pulses racing with some thrilling scores. The roles were reversed after the break when Carras threw off their shackles and played some sparkling football as Ardnaree faded in the final quarter. The fact that their midfielder, Patrick Munnelly, was dismissed for a second bookable offense in the closing quarter hindered their challenge but in truth the result had been decided by the time he was sent off by the referee Ronan

Gurren. The first half was evenly balanced throughout despite Carras getting the perfect start courtesy of Gavin Burke, when his looping shot dropped into the corner of the net. Geoffrey Sheridan added two points in the aftermath of that opener and it seemed as if the southern team would pull away but then Ardnaree found their feet. Cian Burke was determined to leave his mark on this final and did so after seven minutes when the wing-back soloed 60 yards before unleashing a shot into the corner of the net for a stunning goal. Sheridan hit back with another converted free but then Ardnaree began to buzz. Doherty hit the butt of the post with a lob, before kicking three superb points to help the Green and Gold amass a first-half total of 1-5. Burke and Clive Judge also kicked classy scores as the Moy boys exhibited some highly impressive skills. Gerard O’Donnell, Munnelly and Shane Egan were impressive for Ardnaree but at the other end Sheridan was deadly accurate with six points to his name while Denis Mullin added another as they edged the first session 1-7 to 1-5.

The introduction of substitute Colin Hughes at the break proved inspirational for Carras and within 20 seconds he had gathered possession, taken on the defenders and chipped the ball over Jessie Gallagher for a superb goal. Doherty and Eanna Mulchrone replied for the chasers but Carras were moving well with Gary Golden, Darragh Shaughnessy, Gavin Burke and Joseph Cooper to fore. They clipped over points courtesy of Hughes, Cooper and Sheridan but Doherty replied at the other end to keep his side within five points of the leaders. Then Ardnaree were dealt a blow when Munnelly was dismissed and Carras forged further and further clear. Sheridan, Burke, Cooper and the hard-working Sean Golden all split the sticks before a move involving Brendan Kelly, MJ McTigue and Denis Mullin ended with Cooper crashing home a goal in the 53rd minute. That ended the game as a contest and when Hughes added another point they were almost out of sight, but Ardnaree weren’t going down without a fight. They swarmed up the pitch and when a penalty was awarded in the 58th, Gerard O’Donnell stepped forward and slotted it beyond Keith Kyne for a deserved goal. A last-gasp point from Doherty closed the gap a little more but in truth it was just a consolation score and Carras cruised to a comfortable and worthy win as darkness closed in over West-Mayo.


Carras: Geoffrey Sheridan 0-8f, Colin Hughes and Joseph Cooper 1-2, Gavin Burke 1-1, Denis Mullin, Sean Golden.

Ardnaree: Billy Doherty 0-6 (4f), Cian Burke 1-1, Gerard O’Donnell 1-0p, Eanna Mulchrone and Clive Judge 0-1 each.


CARRAS: Keith Kyne; Michael Burke, Adrian Lydon, Brian Donnellan, Sean Mullin, Gary Golden, Sean Golden, Geoffrey Sheridan; Darragh Shaughnessy, Gavin Burke, MJ McTigue; Joseph Cooper, Denis Mullin. Subs: Michael Naughton (for Donnellan 3-inj), Colin Hughes (for Naughton ht), Brendan Kelly (for G Golden 56-inj).


ARDNAREE: Jessie Gallagher; Michael Tighe, Mark Naughton; Tony Barrett, Paul O’Grady, Cian Burke; Patrick Munnelly, Shane Egan; Gerard O’Donnell, Billy Doherty, Eanna Mulchrone; Clive Judge, Darragh McCormack. Sub: Robert Dervin (for Mulchrone 55)


Referee: Ronan Gurren (Aghamore).

Man of the Match: Gavin Burke (Carras)