Club News

November 8, 2018


Big turnout as Killala FC Celebrate

A bumper crowd turned out last night to celebrate a magnificent 2009 season for the club .  Guests Paul Byrne FAI, Pat Quigley Mayo AFL and Dave Breen of the Mayo Youths league were in attendance to present the individual and team awards. Chairman Anthony Gallagher received the ” Club of the Year ” award from Pat Quigley. See the pictures in the gallery and a full list of award winners will be posted later. Below are some of the acheivments at Killala FC during the last season.


Chairman Anthony Gallagher Receiving Club of the Year Award from Mayo FA Chairman Pat Quiqley

Killala FC Club of the Year 2009

  • The 2009 season was one of great achievement for Killala FC. Both on and off the field great strides were made in promoting the game and a fair amount of success was achieved.
  • Under 14 boys Div 3 winners
  • U14 girls Div 1 Runners up
  • U16 Girls Premier Winners
  • U16 Girls Mayo Cup winners
  • U16 Girls WFAI Cup Finalists
  • U16 Girls win all Ireland title playing for St . Patricks College Lacken Cross
  • Mens team Tonra Cup winners
  • Ladies team reach last 32 WFAI Junior Cup
  • Shane McAndrew , Darragh O’Boyle& Emma Munnelly in FAI Emerging Talent Programm
  • Aillen Gilroy capped 7 times by Irish U17 Team
  • Aileen Collins Ailish Healy, Niamh Collins ,Elaine Lowther and Aileen Gilroy on Connaught Gaynor cup panels
  • Aileen Gilroy wins Western People Sports Star Award for Ladies Soccer
  • Club Website successfully launched
  • Online lotto introduced
  • Defibrillator acquired
  • The Tower cup reintroduced
  • John Clarke Named Man of the match Tonra Cup Final
  • Rory Gallagher & Eamonn Knox named on Division 1 team of the year
  • Mark McLoughlin & Kenny Sheridan Manager of the Month for August
  • Coach Education furthered with Ciara McDonnell Certified in Kick Start 2 , Elaine Lowther certified in Kick Start 1 and Peter McDonnell ( Continuous Professional Development Cert UEFA “B” Licence )
  • Defib operator training for Ivan Sweeney, Joe O’Neill, Des O’Boyle, Karen Ward , Aidan Sweeney and Tony Browne
  • New Gear supplied for Coaches
  • Club of the Year Award