Colmcille GFC Notes

November 8, 2018

The Div. 1B team had a very hard fought draw with Clonguish on Friday 29th April. In a game that we could have won and lost, a draw isn’t a bad result. Both teams finished the game with 1-09. Team v. Clonguish: M. Kiernan, C. Brady, M. Kavanagh, Podgie Murtagh, F. Kavanagh, G. Murtagh, N. Farrell, J.P. Reilly, D. Reilly, L. McKeon, N. Brady, P. McKeon, C. Kiernan, D. Farrell and Paul Murtagh.

The lads will be in action against Ballymahon in Fr. McGee Park on Sunday 8th May at 2pm. The Reserve League 3 game against Abbeylara that was due to be played at the weekend was called off as a mark of respect to Pat McKeon, who died suddenly on Saturday. We thank Abbeylara for agreeing to postpone the fixture. It will be re-fixed for next weekend but the new details are not yet available, please check fixtures for these details.

The club extends its sincere sympathy to the McKeon family on the sudden passing of Pat.

The 12K walk that was due to take place on Saturday 30th April was also postponed as a mark of respect to Pat McKeon. The decision was taken very late in the afternoon so it was impossible to circulate sufficient notification. We would like to thank everyone who came along to support the event and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We would also like to thank all those involved in the set up of the event. The walk will be re-scheduled at a date in the near future. Please keep an eye on the notes for details.

There was no winner of the April 26th lotto draw of €8, 400. The numbers drawn were 2, 17, 24, 27. Lucky dip winners were: Lilly Boyce, Fiona Noble, Brian McGlade and Nellie Gormley. Seller’s prize was won by Nellie Gormley. The jackpot is now over €8,500. Envelops are available from all local shops or from any executive member. Yearly lotto subscriptions are available by contacting Frances Kennedy or John Flanagan.

The winners of the Minor Club Easter draw were: Ruth Jones, John Jones and Elizabeth Jones from Rathmore.     

At a recent executive meeting, the following votes of sympathy were taken: Frances Kelly, Pat McKeon, Crott, Oonagh McEvoy, Peter Sheridan, Harry Coyle, Peter McNerney, Colm Reilly, Ballybay and Mary Gannon.