Colmcille GFC notes

November 8, 2018

On Saturday night last the Colmcille G.F.C. held a “This Is Your Life” event in the Glenview lounge for Pearse Daly. The event was to commemorate and acknowledge the immeasurable contribution Pearse has made to the North Longford community throughout his time in the area. Pearse has not only been heavily involved in the G.A.A. but he is also largely responsible for the development of agriculture in North Longford through his role as an Agricultural inspector. Indeed he remains involved with Colmcille GFC as a member of the executive committee and a County Board Delegate and his contribution to the wider community may be seen every week in the local newspapers as he continues to be the North Longford correspondent, a role he has carried out since 1982.

There were many guest speakers and contributors on the night, who paid tribute to Pearse. These included Padraig Geraty, Vice President of Longford County Board, Pat Cahill, Chairperson on Longford County Board and Martin Skelly, Vice Chairperson of the Leinster Council who all spoke of immense contribution Pearse has made to the G.A.A. There was also a video message from Seamus Howlin, Chairperson of Leinster Council. Pat Cahill made a presentation to Pearse on behalf of Longford County Board. Joe Murphy, Chairman of Dromard G.F.C. spoke of the instrumental role Pearse played in founding Dromard G.F.C.

 Most Rev. Dr. Colm O’ Reilly, Bishop of Ardagh and Clonmacnoise sent a video message to wish Pearse well.

Dick Bradley of the Dept. Of Agriculture spoke of his time working with Pearse and Brendan Smith T.D. sent a letter to mark the occasion.

Eugene Mc Gee and Joe Flaherty told of the huge contribution Pearse has made to the locality through his North Longford notes. Indeed Eugene Mc Gee also told of the massive effort Pearse has made to the G.A.A.

Other speakers on the night included Seán Lynch, Gerard Callan, Tommy Sheridan and Stan Boylan from whom Pearse bought his first car in 1948. And there was a surprise visit from Pearse’s son Fr. John who came from Cheshire for the occasion.

Many thanks to all those who contributed to the event. Congratulations must go to Marie Keenan, Joe Mulligan and Dermot Daly who put a huge effort into organising the night.

It is only fitting that acknowledgment is made of the massive effort Pearse has put into the community and we thank him for this. Finally we wish Pearse the very best for the future and look forward to working with him as the North Longford correspondent in the G.A.A.


Our Division 1 team had a great win over Dromard on Saturday 29th May in round 8 of the league. We were victorious by a single point winning on a score line of 1-11 to 1-10

Team v. Dromard: 1. Mark Kiernan, 2. Francis Kavanagh, 3. Mattie Kavanagh, 4. Podgie Murtagh, 5. Gary Murtagh, 6. Ciaran Brady, 7. Brian Brady, 8. Enda Farrell, 9. Noel Farrell, 10. Anthony Gormley, 11. Declan Reilly, 12. J.P. Reilly, 13. Barry Mc Keon, 14. Declan Farrell, 15. Brendan Mc Cabe.

Subs used: Paul Murtagh for Declan Farrell, Ollie Mc Givney for Mattie Kavanagh, Kevin Farrell for Enda Farrell, Joe Kelleher for Brian Brady.

Our Division 5A team were not so fortunate against Emmett Og losing out on a score line of 1-11 to 6-6 and our Division 3 team suffered defeat against Mostrim last Wednesday.

On Wednesday 2nd June the Division 1 team take on Fr. Manning Gaels in Fr. Mc Gee park at 8pm. On Friday 4th June our Division 5A team also take on Fr. Manning Gaels at 8pm in Mc. Gee Park. The Div. 1 team are in action again on Saturday 5th June against Abbeylara in Oliver Lynch Park at 7pm and finally the Div. 5A team will also take on Abbeylara at 1pm on Sunday 6th June in Oliver Lynch Park.

The GAA will shortly produce personalised 2010 membership cards. These
cards will contain each member’s name, club, county, membership type
and membership number. The list of members for each club will be taken
directly from the paid members list in the on-line membership system.
Membership for minors is free and for adults it is 20 euro.To check if
you are on this list see the Club website or contact the Secretary
(, 0860724903/0862238543) before
June 11th.
In future years it is planned that these cards will form part of a
loyalty reward scheme for the GAA, with ticket priority for big games
and events given to people who have gained credits on their cards by
attending games and events throughout the year.
 The cards will be issued to each club via the County Board.

There was no winner of the May 23rd Lotto Draw (1, 14, 18, 30) of €4000. Lucky Dip winners were Killian Reynolds, Gaigue,  Nancy Walsh, Rathmore, Thomas Reynolds, Carrigallen, Adrian Lennon, Ballinamuck.

Next week’s lotto draw (6th June) takes place the Glenview and team 3 are on duty: Terry Gunshinan, Matt and Bernie Mc Gauran, Marie Keenan and Angela Hudson.