Coolderry & Shamrocks finish level in Junior B Final

November 8, 2018

IN a contest laden with missed opportunities and scrappy play, a dramatic injury time goal by Shamrocks corner forward Ian McDermott ensured that a replay will be required to determine the 2011 resting place for the junior ‘B’ hurling trophy.
The sides were deadlocked 0-9 to 1-6 with 48 minutes elapsed (it was the fifth occasion in all that they had been level) when Coolderry moved three points clear courtesy of 1994 All-Ireland SHC medal winner David Dooley (free), Mark Maloney and David O’Meara.
Leading 0-12 to 1-6 and with merely three minutes of normal time remaining at St Brendan’s Park, Birr last Saturday evening, the Coolderry men had the scent of victory in their nostrils, however, Shamrocks, under the management of Donal Franks, John Cantwell and Danny Conroy, weren’t subscribing to that chain of thought.
In the closing minute, with excitement rising, Shamrocks were awarded a 21m free that full forward Shane Cunningham drilled off the crossbar and from the rebound Ian McDermott lashed the sliotar beyond Seamus Tooher thereby levelling matters for the sixth occasion.

Shortly after the puck-out referee Padraig Freeman called a halt, leaving both sides to fight it out a second day.
In a game where there were more wides than scores, both clubs will reflect ruefully on the opportunities they wasted.
Strangely, Coolderry (who hit 13 wides, four more than Shamrocks) for all their territorial dominance failed to ask a serious question of Shamrocks ‘keeper Danny Conroy although he did survive an 11
minute scare from a speculative Mark Maloney shot from 45 metres out as the sliotar struck the cross-bar when Conroy seemed to think it was going over for a point.

Shamrocks: Ian McDermott (1-0), Jack Bryant (1-0), Shane Cunningham (0-2 frees), Michael Conroy (0-2, 0-1 sideline cut), Leon Mollen (0-1), Anthony Condron (0-1).

Coolderry: Andy Connolly (0-4), Mark Maloney (0-2), David O’Meara (0-2), David Dooley (0-2 frees), Paul Connolly (0-1), Ray Larkin (0-1).

Shamrocks 9 (2 1st half); Coolderry 13 (8 1st half)

Red: None. Yellow (2): Leon Mollen (24 mins), Michael Conroy (39 mins).


SHAMROCKS: Danny Conroy; Keith Dunne, Conor Clavin, Ger Keyes; Padraic Kelly, Damien Minnock (capt.), Leon Mollen; Michael Conroy, Brian Tyrrell; Anthony Condron, Shane Heffernan, Mark Yeates; Jack Bryant, Shane Cunningham, Ian McDermott.
Sub.: Stephen Boland for J Bryant (51 mins).
COOLDERRY: Seamus Tooher; Alan Bergin, Eoin Carey, Brian Hayes; Damien Mann, David Dooley, Paul Mahon; Paul Ryan, Mark Maloney; Andy Connolly, Tommy Quinlan (capt.), Ray Larkin; Paul Connolly, David O’Meara, Stephen Molloy.
Sub.: David Hynes for P Connolly (55 mins).
REFEREE: Padraig Freeman, Carrig & Riverstown.