Coolderry win U21 Hurling title

November 8, 2018

P.J. Teehan cup goes back to Coolderry.
Coolderry 2-13
Seir Kieran Óg 0-13
After 200 minutes of hurling Coolderry won the 2010 Offaly U21 Championship by 6 points after another pulsating game against neighbours Seir Kieran Óg.
Coolderry laid the foundation for their success in the opening half after which they led by 1-8 to 0-6.  The goal coming from Conor Nolan in the 20th minute.  However, on the resumption Seir Kieran Óg took the game to Coolderry and with just two minutes left the margin was down to two points 1-12 to 0-13.  However, Coolderry finished with a flourish and a point from Kevin Connolly was followed by a goal from Eoin Ryan to give Coolderry the title.  Both sides were reduced to 14 men early in the second half when Coolderry’s Conor Nolan and Seir Kieran Óg’s James Mulrooney recevied straight red cards in what was otherwise a well contested clean game.
Seir Kieran Óg will rue their 13 wides, while Coolderry were more economical with 9 shots wide of the target.
Coolderry: Eoin Ryan 1-3, Conor Nolan 1-2, Stephen O’Connor 0-3 (0-2f), Kevin Connolly 0-3, David King 0-1 (f), Paul Hensey 0-1
Seir Kieran Óg: Adrian Hynes 0-5 (0-1f), Thomas Carroll 0-4, James Mulrooney 0-4 (0-3f)
Coolderry: Stephen Corcoran, Stephen Connolly, Colm Larkin, Stephen Burke (Capt), David King, Brian Kelly, Paul Maloney, Liam Brady, Paul Hensey, Eoin Ryan, Michael Ryan, Kevin Connolly, Damian Maher, Conor Nolan, Stephen O’Connor: Subs: Declan Parlon for Maloney, David Ryan for O’Connor
Seir Kieran Óg: Joseph Connors, Cathal Murray, Sean Coughlan, Brian Mulrooney, Colm Coughlan, Eanna Murphy, Brian Dunne, Thomas Carroll, James Scully, Adrian Hynes, James Mulrooney, Alan Maher, Shane Molloy, Dermot Gath, Conor Kennedy Subs Donal Guinan for Shane Molloy, Conor Walsh for James Scully
Ref: Declan Cooke