Cos' army shoot the lights out

November 7, 2018


Ballinrobe 0-7

Davitts 0-4



Cos’s army shoot the lights out

HISTORY was made on Saturday evening last at Flanagan Park as Ballinrobe captured the South Mayo Junior B Championship title under their own floodlights.

It was the first time that a divisional final in Mayo was decided under lights, and was the perfect setting for a victory that continues the host club’s recent good record in this competition.

Padraic Costello’s team led from start to finish but had to withstand a fierce Davitts revival in the second half before coming through by three points in the end.

The match was played in difficult conditions with a swirling wind and driving rain but Ballinrobe started positively. By the half-time break the winners led by 0-6 to 0-0 with Enda Reilly and Sean Burke in flying form up front.

The elusive Enda linked well with his brother, Declan, early on and shot two fine scores from play to ease Ballinrobe into a 0-2 to 0-0 lead on eleven minutes.

Minor Sean Burke then found his range and drilled four points before the interval (two frees) to leave Davitts in dire straits. The half-time lead was no more than Ballinrobe deserved and was just reward for the hard work of the evergreen Donal Costello, David Walsh, David Flannery and the rock-like Brian Ansboro in their tight-marking defence.

Declan Reilly chipped in with his first score of the game just after the restart to extend the Ballinrobe lead and it looked like the locals would cruise to an easy win.

However, Davitts had other ideas and they began their long-awaited fightback soon after. With the elements in their favour the Ballindine men reeled off four points without reply before the finish and threw everything into attack.

But Ballinrobe deservedly held out with captain Michéal Durcan and Darragh Jennings working tirelessly at midfield and Aidan Golden, Kevin Keane and Conor Keane all carrying the game to Davitts up front.

The final whistle was music to the ears of the huge Ballinrobe support and the South Mayo Junior B Cup will be on display at the club’s Dinner Dance on Friday night next in Claremorris. 


P Walkin; J Feerick, Donal Costello, David Walsh; E Moran, B Ansboro, D Flannery; D Jennings, M Durcan; S Owens, A Golden, S Burke (0-4, 2fs); D Reilly (0-1), E Reilly (0-2), B Vahey.

Subs used: K Keane for Vahey; C Keane for Owens; S Owens for Ansboro (inj).