County Champions

November 7, 2018

Ballycumber 0–16 Erin Rovers 0–6.
A good start is half the battle and this old saying was true again on Saturday in O’Connor Park. Peter Dunne opened the scoring in the first minute when he turned his man and put the ball over the bar. He did it again in the third minute and Sean Hackett scored a point after he got the ball from a short Lorcan Halligan free in the fifth minute. Dessie Daly, who missed his sister’s[Alma] wedding to play in the final, stormed up the field to get the ball from a Simon Casey free to score in the sixth minute. We had to wait until the 15th min for the next score, which was finished by Peter’Pecker’ Dunne. From the next attack from a dominate midfield pairing of Paul Kelly and Michael Egan the Erin Rovers goalkeeper made a good save and Paul Kelly’s shot was caught by Andrew Grennan and kicked over the bar. Nicholas’ Jack’ Egan scored a wonderful point from near the stand in the 25th minute. Erin Rovers after a number of attempts got on the scoreboard with a point from Adrian Lynam. and they got the first point of the second half from a free. Sean Hackett lofted a huge score in the 7th min. Pecker[2] and Andy and Mick Egan added points in the 10th, 14th, 15th and 17th minutes before Erin Rovers got their third point from a free. Simon Casey got Ballycumber ‘s 13th point in the 21st minute and was followed by two pointed frees for the Pollagh men in the 22 and 23 rd mins.Three subs who were introduced got in on the scoring act with a point each. Dermot Egan, 16years after he lifted the Intermediate cup, scored a point after receiving a pass fro Gary Larkin who was just a small baby in 1994. Kenneth Daly was played at corner forward in 1994 scored a great point in the 30th minute and his dance of joy when it went over showed what this victory meant to him. Erin Rovers got another point from a free in 31st minute and Gary Larkin finished the scoring with a point which was greeted with wild scenes of celebration. Captain Lorcan Halligan received the Andy McCormack Cup from County Board Chairman Pat Teehan and afterwards the panel minus the members who had to leave to attend the Alma Daly and Ger Rafferty wedding in the Hudson Bay Hotel, Athlone adjourned to The Tullamore Court Hotel for a well earned meal before returning to a packed Ballycumber for more celebrations. Congratulations and best wishes to Alma and Ger on their marriage and especially to Ger who was Captain of the St Rynaghs team who won the Intermediate Final immediately after our game. Team. John O’Brien, Colm Kelly, Stevie Quinn, John Egan, Eddie Larkin, Chris McDonald. Dessie Daly, Paul Kelly, Michael Egan, Andy Grennan, Sean Hackett, Jack Egan, Pecker Dunne, Lorcan Halligan[capt] Simon Caseyl, Leo Guinan, Dermot Egan, Aaron Daly, Gary Larkin, Ollie Murray, Vinny Minnock, Ken Daly, Dinny Seery, Niall Quinn, Daniel Boland, Stephen Keena, John Galvin, Mnager Paul Galvin, Selectors Paddy’Bomber’ Buckley and Seamus Dunican, Trainer Eddie Bouabbse.