County title in football

November 7, 2018

Drom-Inch brought home their first trophy of the year last Friday when they defeated Newcastle in the final of the County Football League Division 2.  This victory was all the more notable given that it was the first year Drom-Inch had entered the competition.  Newcastle had come out on top in the earlier league rounds, but it was a much stronger Drom-Inch team which lined out for this showdown.  Drom got off to a poor start when Newcastle goaled with their first attack, but they settled down to take control and scored the next four points, before Seamus Butler added a goal after a great attacking move.  Drom led at this stage by 1-04 to 1-01.  Newcastle continued to contest and there were plenty of robust exchanges with several players picking up yellow cards during this period.  Drom-Inch continued to build on their lead and led at half time by 1-07 to 1-01. 

Newcastle put in a renewed effort early in the second half and closed the gap on the scoreboard, but Drom responded well with points from Johnny Ryan, Mark Cahill and sub John Lillis and a second goal from David Butler.  Newcastle added their second goal shortly afterwards to keep themselves in the hunt, but Drom-Inch were clearly the superior team on the night and added further points to win by seven in the end.  This was a good footballing performance by the team with fluid passing, good score-taking and a high workrate evident throughout.  The players will now be hoping to compete strongly in the Mid Junior championship, which will commence in August.
Team and scorers: 1 Kieran Young 2. Cathal Flynn  3. Willie Ryan  4. Martin Butler  5. Declan Ryan (0-1)  6. Liam Kennedy  7. Paul Collins (capt.)  8. Liam Ryan (0-1)  9. Michael Long  10. Matthew Ryan  11. Eamon Buckley  12. Seamus Butler (1-2)  13. Johnny Ryan (0-3)  14. David Butler (1-0)  15. Mark Cahill (0-5)
Subs: John Lillis (0-2) for M. Ryan, Donnacha Kennedy for D. Ryan, Enda Walsh for M. Long, Michael Everard for L. Ryan, Tom Cantwell for M. Butler
Management: Brian Boyle, Jim Mullen, Tom Kenneally