Credit Union County League Div 1: Rathmore V Laune Rangers

November 8, 2018

Laune Rangers travelled to Rathmore for their first Credit Union County League game where the home side were looking to defend their 2 year unbeaten home league record. Both teams were forced to line up without many of their regulars who were ruled out by injury and inter-county duty. Laune Rangers were first on the board before Rathmore’s Micheal O’Riordan responded with a point and then a thunderous shot from John Buckley’s right boot ripped into the Rangers net. Rangers responded well and hit 3 points in 3 minutes through Shane McSweeney and Colm O’Shea to tie up the game 1-01 to 0-04 points. Rangers keeper Tony Lyons was again left as a spectator in the 17th  minute as he could only stand and watch George O’Keeffe run 50 yards unchecked and rifle into the top right corner. Laune Rangers again responded well to conceding the goal and their superior shooting allowed them to score 5 unanswered points by Mike F. Russell, John Sheehan and Pa Joy before Rathmore finally tacked on a second point in injury time left the side all square at 2-02 to 0-08 heading into the dressing room. Laune Rangers rang the changes at half time with Jerry Coffey and Shane O’Connor replacing Colm O’Shea and Eamonn Carey and a hamstring injury saw Rathmore’s Donal Casey replaced by Tadgh Moynihan. The change allowed Donal O’Sullivan move into his more normal midfield berth were he excelled in the second half. Michael A. Kelleher edged Rathmore ahead in the 5th minute of the second half before Rangers went on another 6th  minute scoring spree, with Mike F. Russell, Shane O’Connor, Pa Sheehan and Shane McSweeney scoring 5 points between them, giving the visitors a three point lead that they didn’t look like losing. However they would score no more and the calming influence of Tom O’Sullivan at centre back, the hard work of Eoin Lawlor and Michael A. Kelleher and Donal O’Sullivan taking control of mid-field brought Rathmore back into the game. In the closing stages O’Sullivan kicked 4 points, three from frees and a further point from Lawlor ensured that Rathmore’s unbeaten run continued with a two point win when Tom McCarthy blew the final whistle. Rathmore 2-08 Laune Rangers 0-12


Rathmore: George O’Keeffe (1-0), John Buckley (1-0), Donal O’Sullivan 0-4 (0-3f), Michael O’Riordan (0-2), Eoin Lawlor 0-1