Dissappointing week as both our Junior hurling A and B teams exit championship

November 7, 2018

On saturday last our junior A team took on Skeheenarinka in the south semi-final played at clonmel’s sportsfield. The following is a report on the match published in the nationalists

South JHC ‘A’ semi-final

Skeheenarinky 1-10

St Patricks 1-7

On Saturday the first of the Quirke Jewellers Junior Hurling Championship Semi Finals was played in Clonmel with the hurling never reaching the intensity or hurling associated with a semi final.

In the third meeting Nicky Kearney opened the scoring with a point from play for St Patrick’s with Anthony Crotty replying for Skeheenarinky from a free in the 5th minute, Five minutes later fellow midfielder Eoghan McCormack added another point from play, In the 14th minute St Patricks were awarded a 65 that Tony O’Brien converted. In the 16th minute Conor Sweeney got his first point from play for Skeheenarinky with Robert McCormack making it 4 points for St Patricks in the 20th minute, Conor Sweeney picked off the best point of the first half in the 24th minute to leave the score at the interval 0-4 to 0-3

After the Break St Patricks introduced Neil Gleeson and Brendan Gleeson for Kieran Clancy and Richard Needham, Skeheenarinky bringing in Niall Barrett for Anthony Crotty.

Skeheenarinky took control of the game in the third quarter with Conor Sweeney scoring two points from frees, The game was 44 minutes old when Skeheenarinky were awarded a free that Conor Sweeney took and the ball fell to Niall Barrett who made no mistake in scoring a goal.

In the 46th minute St Patricks were awarded a 20m free when Neil Gleeson had won a great ball from Tony O’Brien and was fouled heading for goal – O’Brien stepping up to the mark made no mistake with a shot blasted into the net to leave the score after the third quarter Skeheenarinky 1-5 St Patricks 1-4.

The best hurlinig was played in the final quarter when both teams gave it their all, starting with the sending off of St Patricks’ keeper John Moroney with Brendan Gleeson going back into goal. Conor Sweeney who was fouled took his own free to score a point. In the 53rd minute Paul Horan scored a magnificent point from play after a great combination also involving Robert McCormack and Nickey Kearney to bring it back to a one point game.

Then Skeheenarinky were awarded a free around the middle of the field and whatever wind was there favoured Skeheenarinky in the second half and Conor Sweeney made no mistake when putting two between the teams again,

In the 55th minute Neil Gleeson cut the margin to one point with a great score from play and a minute later the teams were level when Robert McCormack scored a wonderful point to leave it 1-7 each.

Harry English came on as a sub for Skeheenarinky and on his first involvement was shown a red card and dismissed. However it was Skeheenarinky who went ahead when Conor Sweeney scored – they then brought in Fionan O’Sullivan for Noel Vaughan and with his first touch scored a very skilful point in the 58th minute with the same player within a minutes adding another point from play to see the final score 1-10 to 1-7 and deserving winners over the hour and they now advance to meet either Kilsheelan or Ballingarry in the Final

Best for Skeheenarinky were John O’Callaghan, John Martin, Conor Sweeney 0-7 (4f), Niall Barrett 1-0, Fionan O Sulivan 0-2, Anthony Crotty 0-1 while for a gallant St Patricks, Paul Horan 0-1, Damien Barry, Eoghan McCormack 0-1 Nicky Kearney 0-1, Robert McCormack 0-2, Tony O Brien 1-1(2f), Neil Gleeson 0-1 tried hardest.

Skeheenarinky – Jason Cahill, Shane Molan, Eoin Kearney, Francis Martin, Shane Lynch, John Callaghan, David Hyland, John Martin, Paidi Fitzgerald, Noel Vaughan, Danny Barrett, Seamus Callaghan, Anthony Crotty, Conor Sweeney, Tommy Sweeney. Subs Harry English, Niall Barrett, Foionan O’Sullivan

St Patricks – John Moroney, William O’Brien, Colm Dunne, Darren Meagher, Patrick Moroney, Damien Barry, Paul Horan, Eoghan McCormack, Nicky Kearney, Aaron Cronin, Richie Needham, Conor Barry, Kieran Clancy, Robert McCormack, Tony O’Brien. Subs Neil Gleeson, Brendan Gleeson, Dermot Molloy,

Referee – Noel Cosgrove (Marlfield)

Junior B

On Tuesday evening last our junior B hurlers took on Cahir in the south semi-final at monroe. On the night our lads didn’t play to their full potential and were defeated  by four points on a scoreline of Cahir 1-15  St. Patrick’s 2-8.

St. Patrick’s Junior B Team:  Declan Ryan, Eamon Needham, Keith Browne, Ivan Brett, Neil Gleeson, Anthony Barry, Gavin Strappe, Thomas Hayes, Dermot Molloy, Mark Slattery, Robert Meagher, Mark Mullally, Mark Fitzgerald, Mick O’Connell, James Buckley.  
Subs: Aodhan Maher , P.J. Burke, Noel Brett, Stuart Broderick, Kieran O’Brien and Tony Smith.
We sincerely thank the management of our Junior hurling teams Chris Foley, Kenny Brett and Mickey O’Connell for the time and effort they have put into preparing the  junior hurling teams  this year.