Division 1 Football League Champions

November 7, 2018

Div.1 F.L. Final.
Ballycumber 1—17 Edenderry 0–13.
Playing with the aid of the elements in Mucklagh on Saturday evening Ballycumber raced into a lead and thanks to points from Rory Guinan[0–6] and Fergal Daly [0–1] led 0–7 to 0–2 at the break. Edenderry scored three points without reply. Rory got a point from play before three more unanswered points brought the sides level at 18minutes. Colm Quinn converted a free and Edenderry drew level again, Colm kicked another point from a free to which Edenderry replied with two points from play to gain the lead. Cometh the hour Cometh the man, Colm stood over a 35metre free facing wind and hill and with time almost up, he kicked the ball straight between the post to draw the game. Extra time had been stipulated and the teams faced two periods of ten minutes . Ballycumber played up the hill in the first half and points from Rory[2] Fergal [2] and Conor Robbins [1] gave them an interval lead of 0–5 to 0–1. Fergal added to his total with a point after the restart and Eamonn McCabe put the issue beyond doubt with a goal after he followed the ball into the goal area and deceived the goalkeeper.After the game captain Fergal Daly emulated his father Sonny in 1968 when he received the Casey Trophy from County Board Chairman Pat Teehan and he thanked every one involved in the League campaign including former trainer Eddie Bouabbse for their commitment.Team . Peter Flynn, Alan Flanagan, Chris McDonald, Ritchie Dunne, John Egan, Karl Daly, Sean Hackett, Mick Egan, Ger Egan, Keith Lawler, Colin Daly, Fergal Daly[capt] Colm Quinn, Eamonn McCabe, Rory Guinan, Subs. Conor Robbins, Nigel Grennan, Declan Daly, Brian Halligan, Adrian Kelly.