Division 4B League Match v Dreadnots

November 8, 2018

Junior 4B in Pairc de Roiste 2nd April at 7:30pm Roche Emmets 1-7 Dreadnots 2-15.

Referee: David Loughran

This game began in an end to end fashion with both teams missing a number of chances before Glen Darling produced the first score, a point from play on the 6th minute. On the ninth minute Colin Kelly scored the first of his seven points, after he missed two attempts. But he rattled off three points to accompany a very good point from Gordan Kirwin after he moved up the field with the play from his half back position. Roche had plenty of the play but could not turn their efforts into scores. In contrast the Dreadnots were crushing with Kelly leading the line. Philip Quinn got Roche off the mark on the 17th minute through a converted 45 metre free but three minutes later the Dreadnots underlined their superiority when Darling crashed the ball to the Roche net in the 20th minute to leave the score Dreadnots 1-5 Roche 0-1. Roche got two further points through Liam Carthy and Duane Callan to leave the half time score 1-5 to 0-3 but the home team were now struggling to keep with the visitors.

Kelly began the second half with two quick points. Then fellow veteran Paddy McGuigan came through from midfield to score another point before Niall Hand sealed the result in his teams favour with a smart goal 6 minutes after the restart. Paudie Callaghan pulled a goal back quickly for Roche before Kelly added two more points either side of a point by Niall Hand before the former County star retired knowing the points were in the bag with the score the 2-11 to 1-3. With Roche down a man after David Quigley was sent off a further 8 points between them. The final score was Dreadnots 2-15 Roche 1-7.

Roche: Sean O’Hare, Conor Martin, Brian McGuinness, Niall Treanor, John Levins, David Quigley, Duane Callan (1pt), Robert O’Hanlon, Paudie Callaghan (1gl), Philip Quinn (3pts), Liam Carthy (1pt), Enda Murphy, Barry McConnon, Kieran Sloane (1pt), Bernard McConnon. Subs used Tom Quigley, Owen O’Hare, Patrick Quigley (1pt), Peter McShane and James Tiffney.