Dublin footballers beat the All Stars

November 8, 2018


Dublin’s Michael Darragh Macauley started 2011 as he had finished 2010 in impressive fashion when inspiring Dublin to victory in the annual Evening Herald/Dublin Bus Dubs Stars senior fooball challenge at Russell Park on Saturday afternoon.

The Dubs Stars started the stronger with Tomás Quinn and Brian Kavanagh kicking early scores but a flurry of scores from Dean Kelly and a brilliantly taken Eoghan O’Gara goal saw Dublin led 1-8 to 0-7 at the break.

The Dubs Stars suffered a big blow early on when Rory O’Carroll picked up an ankle injury while at the other end Dublin’s full-back was also forced to retire before the game had really taken shape.

A Macauley goal at the end of a strong run was soon followed by one by Darragh Stapleton as Dublin took control but the Dubs Stars with Mark Vaughan to the fore finished with wind in the sails in a tight finish.

Dublin face Westmeath next Sunday in the O’Byrne Cup in Mullingar and due to injuries, players who are college-tied, and the Crokes contingent preparing for their Leinster Club final against Rhode (Jan 23) Dublin manager Pat Gilroy will have to plan without 24 players.

Ross McConnell, Eamon Fennell and Paul Flynn are all currently injured and will be out of action until the end of February.

“Today is our first day back and then we’re back training properly on Tuesday, try to work off the excesses of the Christmas although most of the lads seem in good shape to be fair,” said Dublin manager Pat Gilroy afterwards.

SCORERS – Dublin: MD Macauley 1-3, E O’Gara, D Stapleton 1-1, A Hubbard 0-3, D Kelly, K McManamon 0-2, C Mullins, D Nelson 0-1 each. Dubs Stars: T Quinn 0-7 (0-6f), M Vaughan 1-2 (0-1f), P Andrews 0-3, B Kavanagh, A Morrissey 0-2 each, L Óg Ó hÉineacháin, P Burke 0-1 each.
DUBLIN: S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons, P Brogan, N Devereux; P Casey, J McCarthy, D Nelson; MD Macauley, C Mullins; A Hubbard, K Bonner, D Daly; D Kelly, E O’Gara, K McManamon. Subs used: G Brennan, D Stapleton, C Murphy.
DUBS STARS: R O’Flaherty; W Lowry, Rory O’Carroll, G Norton; K Nolan, B McGrath, S Murray; C Dias, K Darcy; L Óg Ó hÉineacháin, T Quinn, A Morrissey; D Connolly, B Kavanagh, P Andrews. Subs used: C Lamb, P Burke, M Vaughan.