Dublin Hurlers back in Div. 1

November 8, 2018

Boland hits late winner for determined Dubs

07 Apr 2013 |


Dublin secured promotion to the top-flight for 2014 with this excellent victory in Saturday night’s Allianz HL Division 1B final at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

The one-point win in this titanic battled also sees the Dubs progress to face Tipperary in the Division 1 semi-final in two weeks’ time.

It was a success borne out of guts and determination and the deadball expertise of Paul Ryan as the boys in blue reversed the outcome of their regulation clash against the Shannonsiders as Joey Boland’s late winner sealed the deal.

In the opening half it was Limerick who made the more assured start but thanks to some brilliant reflexes from keeper Alan Nolan they were denied an early goal as he stopped close-range efforts from both Graeme Mulcahy and Conor Allis.

Dublin eventually settled and with points from Ryan (free), Johnny McCaffrey and Conor McCormack bringing the sides level by the 16th minute.

A Simon Lambert point and stunning Ryan goal from a free edged the Dubs four points clear yet by the interval John Allen’s men had regained their momentum to lead 1-7 to 1-6 thanks to Declan Hannon’s goal from a free.

Dublin restarted the better with points from Ryan and David O’Callaghan but again back came the Munster men to strike five in-a-row through Hannon (three), Allis and Mulcahy.

Entering the last 20 minutes Limerick were three to the good but it was Dublin that illustrated the greater will to win from there to the finishing line.

Sub David Treacy made some telling contributions with Liam Rushe, Danny Sutcliffe and Peter Kelly rising to the challenge for the push for victory.

Ryan continued to deliver from deadball as Dublin got level in the final minutes before Boland struck a superb winner for Anthony Daly’s men.

SCORERS – Dublin: P Ryan 1-8 (1-8f), J Boland, S Lambert, D Sutcliffe, D O’Callaghan, C McCormack J McCaffrey (sideline), N McMorrow, D Treacy 0-1 each. Limerick: D Hannon 1-7 (1-6f, 0-1 ‘65’), S Hickey, C Allis, G Mulcahy 0-2 each, P O’Brien, K Downes 0-1 each.
DUBLIN: A Nolan; R Trainor, P Schutte, P Kelly; M Carton, L Rushe, S Durkin; J Boland, S Lambert; C Keaney, J McCaffrey, D Sutcliffe; C McCormack, D O’Callaghan, P Ryan. Subs: R O’Dywer for McCaffrey (ht), N McMorrow for Keaney (46), D Treacy for Carton (50), E Dillon for McCormack (63).
LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; P O’Brien, W McNamara, G O’Mahony; P Browne, J Ryan; D Breen, S Hickey, C Allis; K Downes, D Hannon, G Mulcahy. Subs: S Dowling for Breen (56), N Moran for Downes (64).
REF: A Kelly (Galway).