Dublin Hurlers reach walsh cup final

November 8, 2018


A determined Dublin progressed to the final of the Walsh Cup when overcoming Wexford in this semi-final at Gorey on Saturday.
The Dubs played the concluding 21 minutes with 13 men after having John Kelly (41st minute) and John McCaffrey (49th minute) both sent off on second yellow card offences in this encouraging victory to set up a clash with Galway, 1-22 to 2-16 victors over Offaly, in the decider.
Dublin made an excellent start when Shane Ryan scored a fine goal in the sixth minute following good work by McCaffrey and Kevin Flynn and by the interval led 1-9 yo 0-8.
Six minutes into the second half Kelly was dismissed and not long after the influential McCaffrey followed to leave the Dubs fighting a rearguard action to the finishing line.
Wexford had goaled direct from a Diarmuid Lyng free before the dismissal of McCaffrey but sub Kevin OLoughlin raised a green flag for the Dubs with his opening contribution this well-contested duel.
Despite their numerical superiority the Slaneysiders could not break down the Dublin defence with Stephen Hiney and Ronan Fallon inspiring their side to victory.

SCORERS – Dublin: A McCrabbe 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 sline), J McCaffrey 0-4 (0-2 65, 0-1f), S Ryan 1-1, K OLoughlin 1-0, M OBrien 0-2, S Lambert, K Flynn, M Carton, D Byrne 0-1 each. Wexford: D Lyng 1-7 (1-5f), J Berry 1-2, C Farrell (0-1f), W Doran, S Banville, C Kenny 0-1 each.
DUBLIN – A Nolan; S OSullivan, N Corcoran, R Trainor; S Hiney, R Fallon, M OBrien; J McCaffrey, S Lambert; D Curtin, S Ryan, J Kelly; P Carton, K Flynn, A McCrabbe. Subs: M Carton for Curtin (49), K OLoughlin for P Carton (50), D Byrne for Ryan (64).
WEXFORD – D Flynn; E Doyle, B Kenny, K Rossiter; D Stamp, G Jacob, P Nolan; C Farrell, M Travers; PJ Nolan, W Doran, D Nolan; S Banville, D Lyng, J Berry. Subs: A Shore for Banville (31), C Kenny for Travers (42), T Mahon for Farrell (53), T Waters for D Nolan (55), M Connors for PJ Nolan (62).
REF – B Kelly (Westmeath).