Dublin Hurlers win the National League

November 8, 2018

Super Dubs Outclass Kilkenny

01 May 2011 |
LEAGUE CHAMPIONS: Johnny McCaffrey & Stephen Hiney lift the Cup

Dublin 0-22 Kilkenny 1-7
Dublin powered past a lethargic Kilkenny team to win the Allianz National hurling league title in Croke Park this afternoon for the first time since 1939 . Dublin were the superior team throughout and by half time had built a six point lead . Paul Ryan was outstanding in the first half scoring seven points which included four frees . Eoin Larkin was dismissed in the 25th minute by referee Michael Wadding who also controversially blew for half time with Dublin on the attack . Conor McCormack finished to the net only to have the goal disallowed . Remarkably, Kilkenny only scored twice from play in this game, a statistic which may worry Brian Cody as he prepares his team for the Leinster Championship . He may also have to plan without John Dalton who was involved in an attack on a Dublin player after the half time whistle was blown .
Dublins substitutes in the second half which included Declan O Dwyer of Nh Olaf turned the screw on kIlkenny, they will be delighted with the return from their forwards . Ten different players scored including spectacular scores from substitutes David Treacy , Maurice O’Brien and Simon Lambert .The only negative from a Dublin viewpoint would be a shoulder injury to Joey Boland who had to leave the field in the 42nd minute . Anthony Daly will be hoping that the hunger shown today by his players can be transferred into the Leinster and All-Ireland campaigns .