Dublin Minors win Leinster league final

November 8, 2018

Goals crucial as minor footballers captured Leinster MFL title

01 Apr 2011 |
GOAL: Niall Scully celebrates Dublin’s third goal in their Leinster MFL final victory.


Dublin captured the Leinster minor football league title when a scoring surge towards the close of the first half put them on the road to victory in Friday night’s final at Parnell Park.
Brilliantly taken goals from half-backs John Small and Jack McCaffrey in the 24th and 26th minutes saw the Dubs lead 2-8 to 0-4 at the break and despite some excellent scores from Longford’s Robert Smyth in the second period Dessie Farrell’s side had too much of a cushion.
Small’s goal was the best score of the night when the Ballymun Kickhams centre-back initiated the move before travelling 70 metres to clinically despatch a ferocious drive to the roof of the Longford net.
The visitors were still reeling when McCaffrey showed good presence of mind to round of a fine move up the terrace side with an impressive finish to see the Dubs move 2-6 to 0-4 clear.
Points just before the interval from the stylish Shane Carthy and Conor Meaney had the home side ten points to the good at the break.
Longford came out all guns blazing on the restart and three points in quick succession saw them cut into the deficit before a Niall Scully goal effectively sealed their fate.
Sub Kevin Kindlon, who had been just introduced, made an immediate impact when fielding a ball in the middle sector before embarking on a powerful run and unselfishly placing Scully for the third goal of the night.
Dublin face Westmeath in the Leinster MFC on Saturday, April 16 in Parnell Park.

SCORERS – Dublin: Niall Scully 1-2 (0-1f), Shane Carthy 0-4 (0-1f, 0-1 ‘45’), John Small, Jack McCaffrey 1-0 each, David Campbell 0-2, Conor Pike, Matias Mac Donnacha, Conor Meaney 0-1 each.
DUBLIN – Ross O’Hanlon (Clontarf); Rutherson Real (Raheny), Robert McDaid (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Eoghan Boyne (St Sylvester’s); Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf), John Small (Ballymun Kickhams), Conor Pike (Erin’s Isle); Paddy O’Higgins (Raheny), Ronan Noonan (Ballymun Kickhams); Shane Carthy (Nh Mearnog), Conor Meaney (St Sylvester’s), Matias Mac Donnacha (Clontarf); Eoin Archbold (Ballymun Kickhams), David Campbell (Kilmacud Crokes), Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge St). Subs used: Graham Hannigan (Castleknock), Aran Waters (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Eoghan Quinn (Castleknock), Brendan Bentley (Templeogue Synge St), Scott Fulham (St Anne’s), Neil Flannery (Na Fianna), Kevin Kindlon (Castleknock), Marc