Dublin reach All Ireland Final after dower battle with Donegal

November 8, 2018

Dublin Reach the All- Ireland Final

28 Aug 2011 |

Dublin 0-8 Donegal 0-6

Fourteen man Dublin squeezed past Donegal in a dour, tactical struggle at Croke Park to qualify for their first All-Ireland football final since 1995.Dublin managed only two Bernard Brogan frees in a first half that ended with Donegal ahead by 0-4 to 0-2, with Colm McFadden scoring twice.Despite the straight red card dismissal of Diarmuid Connolly on 57 minutes the Dubs finished strongly with scores from Kevin McManamon,Bryan Cullen and Bernard Brogan.

The introduction of Kevin McManamon in the second half was a major plus for Dublin, his strong running exposing some weaknesses in a Donegal rearguard unit which had lost key man Karl Lacey through injury.That being said the Dubs still just managed two points from play before a crowd of 81,436,  but they just got over the line, , to set up a clash with Kerry in the decider.Incidentally one has to go back to 1984 for the last time the minors and seniors appeared on All-Ireland football final day together . It promises to be a huge occasion in the Capital .

Dublin: S Cluxton , C O’Sullivan, R O’Carroll, M Fitzsimons, J McCarthy, G Brennan, K Nolan, D Bastick, MD Macauley, P Flynn, B Cahill, B Cullen), A Brogan, D Connolly, B Brogan.
Subs: P McMahon for O’Carroll, K McManamon for Cahill, E O’Gara for McCarthy, E Fennell for Bastick, Ross O’Carroll for Flynn

Donegal: P Durcan, E McGee, N McGee, F McGlynn, A Thompson, K Lacey, K Cassidy , R Kavanagh, N Gallagher, M McHugh, D Walsh, R Bradley , C Toye, M Murphy, C McFadden .
Subs: M Hegarty for Toye, M Boyle for Lacey, M McElhinney for Hegarty, P McBrearty for Walsh

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).
Scorers Dublin ; B Brogan 0-4 (4f) , S Cluxton 0-2 ( 1f ,145) , K Mc Manamon 0-1 B Cullen 0-1
Scorers Donegal ; C McFadden 0-4 (2f) , Ryan Bradley 0-1, K Cassidy 0-1 ,