Dublin reach last eight

November 8, 2018

DUBLIN 2-14 LOUTH 0-13

Two first half goals from Eoghan O’Gara paved the way for Dublin to progress to the last eight in the race for the Sam Maguire on Saturday afternoon in Croke Park.

The forceful Templeogue Synge St man breached the Louth cover for the first time in the 11th minute when he raced through the heart of the Wee County’s defence and his shot on the run was slightly deflected on it’s way to Neil Gallagher’s net.

The score pushed the Dubs 1-3 to 0-0 clear after earlier points from Stephen Cluxton, who converted the first of his two ‘45s’, Alan Brogan, and a Bernard Brogan free.

At this stage Dublin had total control of the game with the midfield of Ross McConnell and Michael Darragh Macauley on top with Niall Corkery and the highly impressive Bryan Cullen to the fore around the breaking ball.

O’Gara made had added to his tally in the 22nd minute but a loose solo put him under pressure and he ended up fisting the ball wide as a goal opportunity disappeared.

However, he made no mistake before the break when McConnell and Alan Brogan combined before O’Gara showed great strength to power his way in along the endline and side-foot the ball to the net to push Dublin 2-6 to 0-1 clear in the 33th minute.

Louth needed a flurry of scores on the restart to get back into the game but they did not materialise as Dublin took their foot off the pedal as the half progressed. However, Paul Flynn put in a good shift after being introduced seven minutes into the second half.

Louth did keep motoring with subs Declan Byrne and Derek Maguire making positive contributions while Paddy Keenan finished the game strongly after a subdued opening 50 minutes.

SCORERS – Dublin: E O’Gara 2-1, BCullen, B Brogan (0-2f) 0-3 each, S Cluxton (0-2 ‘45’) 0-2, A Brogan, G Brennan, R McConnell, P Flynn, T Quinn (0-1f) 0-1 each; Louth: B White (0-3f), D Clarke (0-2f) 0-3 each, D Byrne, P Keenan 0-2 each, A McDonnell, S Lennon, D Maguire 0-1 each
DUBLIN – S Cluxton; P McMahon, R O’Carroll, M Fitzsimons; B Cahill, G Brennan, K Nolan; MD Macauley, R McConnell; N Corkery, D Henry, B Cullen; B Brogan, E O’Gara, A Brogan. Subs: P Flynn for Corkery (42), C Keaney for Henry (43), E Fennell for McConnell (50), D Magee for Macauley (54), T Quinn for A Brogan (59).
LOUTH – N Gallagher; E McAuley, D Finnegan, J O’Brien; R Finnegan, M Fanning, S Fitzpatrick; P Keenan, B White; A McDonnell, M Brennan, A Reid; C Judge, S Lennon, JP Rooney. Subs: D Clarke for Judge (34), D Byrne for R Finnegan (34), R Carroll for White (47), D Maguire for Rooney (59), Derek Crilly for Fitzpatrick (62).