Dublin silence Clare shout

November 8, 2018

DUBLIN 2-22 CLARE 0-15

Dublin surived a second half comeback by Clare before finishing in impressive style in Saturday’s All-Ireland SHC qualifier Phase 2 clash at Croke Park.

A brilliant ten-minute spell in the opening half helped the Dubs to a 0-14 to 0-7 lead at half-time but the Banner reeled in the Dubs by scoring the opening six points of the second half inside nine minutes of the restart.

However, then came Dublin’s first goal and arguably the crucial score of the game which saw the momentum switch back around in favour of Anthony Daly’s men.

Ten minutes into the second half a point effort from wing-back Peter Kelly was dropping just short but with Liam Rushe contesting possession with Clare keeper neither got a touch and the sliotar carried all the way to the net.

All of a sudden Dublin sparked to life and move the ball with the same accuracy and timing as they had during their first half purple patch with Alan McCrabbe adding two points to his tally, including the first of his sublime sidelines. Maurice O’Brien and sub Simon Lambert added points to see Dublin move five points clear, 1-18 to 1-13.

Four minutes from time good combination play by the Dublin forward concluded with Lambert driving the sliotar to the net which put Dublin out of sight. Any late sightings on goal that Clare created with dealt with by Gary Maguire who made a few brilliant reflex saves.

In the first half the game was evenly balanced for the opening 20 minutes, 0-4 each. Then Dublin upped their game and really grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck.

The service to the inside forwards improved and David O’Callaghan began to outfox the Clare defence with Declan O’Dwyer, Peter Kelly, Shane Durkin and Alan McCrabbe all contributing to the tally as Dublin catapulted themselves into a 0-13 to 0-4 lead with six minutes remaining in the first half.

The Dubs now face Antrim.

SCORERS – Dublin: A McCrabbe 0-8 (0-3f, 0-2 sline), D O’Callaghan 0-6, P Kelly, S Lambert 1-1 each, S Hiney 0-2, S Durkin, M O’Brien, L Rushe, D O’Dwyer 0-1 each. Clare: J Conlon, C Ryan (0-1f, 0-1 65) 0-3 each, N O’Connell, J Clancy, F Lynch 0-2 each, B Bugler, D Honan, S Collins 0-1 each