Dublin win Leinster under 21 Football final

November 8, 2018


Dublin retained their Leinster U21 football championship title in dramatic fashion at Parnell Park on Sunday afternoon.
The Dubs held a 0-9 to 0-3 lead at half-time but Westmeath dominated the second half and cut the deficit to the minimum, 0-10 to 0-9, with 13 minutes remaining as the momentum swung totally the way of the midlanders.
Corner-forward James Durkan could have brought the sides level, but the Westmeath No 15 drilled for goal with an easy chance there for the taking as the game entered the last ten minutes.
But it was the Dubs should the greater nerve when needed most with a goal from Ciarán Dorney in the 59th minute settling the issue.
Dorney was released on goal following a good run from Nicky Devereux and the St Vincents man clinically angled his drive to the far corner of the net as keeper Darren Quinn advanced off his line.
In the blink of an eye Dublin were back in the driving seat and points from Ted Furman and a Dean Rock free in injury put a misleading final look to the scoreline.
Dublin now face Connacht champions Roscommon on Saturday, April 17 in the All-Ireland U21FC semi-final.
With wind advantage in the opening half the free-taking of Dean Rock and well worked scores from play from James McCarthy, Johnny Cooper and Dorney had Dublin 0-9 to 0-3 clear by the interval.

SCORERS – Dublin: D Rock 0-6 (0-5f), C Dorney 1-1, J Cooper, J McCarthy, B ORorke (0-1f), D Quinn (Lucan), T Furman 0-1 each. Westmeath: C Lynam 0-6 (0-4f), P Sharry, C McCormack, J Durkan 0-1 each.
DUBLIN – V Whelan; E Culligan, R OCarroll, D Nelson; J Cooper, M Coughlan, N Devereux; S Murray, J McCarthy; C Dorney, D Rock, G Sweeney; B ORorke, G McIntyre, D Quinn (Na Fianna). Subs: D Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields) for Quinn (20); T Furman for McIntyre (ht); E Keogh for Coughlan (38); S McGuinness for Culligan (43); J McDermott for Keogh (53).
WESTMEATH – D Quinn; B Moran, K Maguire, R Doyle; G Egan, K Martin, J Dolan; D Corroon, J Heslin; P Sharry, J Egan, C Lynam; I Coffey, C McCormack, J Durkan. Subs: L Smyth for J Egan (ht); T McDaniel for McCormack (53); S Mulvihill for Sharry (60).