Dublin win second match in league

November 8, 2018



The new-look Dubs recorded another confidence boosting victory following a powerful second half display in this NFL Division 1 clash at Parnell Park on Saturday night.
Dublin started well with four points inside the opening 12 minutes but failed to score again for the remainder of the half and trailed 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval. However, a strong concluding ten minutes, which included a superb individual goal by Kevin McManamon, saw the Dubs add the scalp of Derry to that of Kerry – the 2009 NFL Division 1 finalists.
In the first half early points from Eamon Fennell, following a good fetch and release by Blaine Kelly, Kevin McManamon, Ross McConnell and Michael MacAuley after Tiernan Diamond had effected a great block to win possessin for Dublin had the hosts 0-4 to 0-1 in front by the 12th minute.
But the remainder of the half belonged to Derry with the freetaking of James Kielt and Mark Lynch punishing any indiscretions by Dublin.
Blaine Kelly and James Kielt swapped points early in the second half but an excellent Fennell point and Bernard Brogan free after the driving force of this period – Fennell – had been fouled brought Dublin level, 0-7 each, with 15 minutes remaining.
Importantly Dublin got the next score to edge in front when Brendan McManamon finished off a good move with a well struck point and points from sub Darragh Nelson when the young Ballyboden lad timed his run to perfection to clip over after Michael Darragh MacAuley, Kevin Bonner and Kevin McManamon had combined.
A second Brogan free had Dublin 0-10 to 0-7 in front with six minutes still to play but the score of the night sealed victory for Dublin in the 66th minute when Kevin McManamon ran 60 metres using his strength to telling effect to bustle Patsy Bradley out of the way before cracking to the net from ten metres.

SCORERS – Dublin: K McManamon 1-1, B Brogan 0-3 (0-2f), E Fennell 0-2, R McConnell, M MacAuley, B Kelly, D Nelson, B McManamon 0-1 each. Derry: J Kielt 0-4 (0-3f), M Lynch 0-2 (0-2f), A McLaughlin 0-1.