Dublin win Walsh Cup

November 8, 2018

Walsh Cup delight for Dubs

27 Feb 2011 |


Dublin hurlers survived a stroming last quarter from Kilkenny before emerging as the 2011 Walsh Cup champions at Parnell Park on Sunday afternoon.

Anthony Daly’s men led by 16 points, 2-14 to 0-5, 14 minutes into the second half but as the weather deterioated significantly they played second fiddle for the conclusion of the contest as the Cats surged back into contention.

Daire Plunkett grabbed Dublin’s second goal with an inch perfect shot into the far top corner as he raced through on goal and at that stage it looked like there could only be one winner.

However, Kilkenny sprung a few big guns from the bench with Michael Fennelly and Aidan Fogarty lifting the standard of team’s play.

Goals from TJ Reid direct from a free from 25 metres in the 55th minute and eight minutes later Michael Fennelly powered through the heart of the Dublin defence and unleashed a shot past Alan Nolan which saw the lead reduced to just three points, 2-15 to 2-12.

Two Ryan O’Dwyer frees steadied the Dubs over the close of the game to capture the Walsh Cup for the fifth time (1960, 1964, 1966, 2003, 2011).

Dublin dominated the first half and had the wind advantage also but should have led by more than 1-11 to 0-2 at the interval with Shane Ryan and Conor Clinton enjoying excellent opening periods but the Dubs also shot nine wides compared to two by Kilkenny

The goal game in the 18th minute when Cinton got the final touch to the sliotar in a goalmouth scramble following a penalty saved by Colin McGrath denied his opposing goalkeeper Alan Nolan.

SCORERS – Dublin: C Clinton 1-4, R O’Dwyer 0-6 (0-4f), D Plunkett 1-1, S Ryan 0-3, J McCaffrey (0-1 ‘65’), L Ryan, D O’Dwyer 0-1 each. Kilkenny: TJ Reid 1-6 (0-3f, 0-1 65), M Fennelly 1-0, A Fogarty 0-2, M Rice, J Fitzpatrick, J Mulhall, N Walsh, E Guinan 0-1 each.
DUBLIN – A Nolan; R Trainor, N Corcoran, M Quilty; J Sheanon, J McCaffrey, S Durkin; L Rushe, C Clinton; S Ryan, L Ryan, C McCormack; D O’Dwyer, R O’Dwyer, D Plunkett. Subs: D O’Callaghan for McCormack (ht); C McCormack for Sheanon (61); P Carton for S Ryan (61); S Ryan for Clinton (inj, 66); J Sheanon for L Ryan (73).
KILKENNY – C McGrath; J Dalton, N Hickey, M Kavanagh; P Murphy, J Tyrrell, C Fogarty; M Rice, J Fitzpatrick; J Mulhall, P Hogan, N Walsh; M Ruth, TJ Reid, E Guinan. Subs: M Fennelly for Walsh (44); E Brennan for Ruth (44); A Fogarty for Hogan (51).
REF – B Gavin (Offaly).