Dunshaughlin 0-15 Walterstown 0-10

November 8, 2018

Hosts Dunshaughlin overcame the stubborn challenge of Walterstown in this A League match to earn their first victory of their campaign. Despite playing into a fresh breeze, it was the Garlow Cross outfit who were quickest out of the blocks finding themselves 0-3 to 0-1 up after seven minutes. The Dunshaughlin score came from an audacious Niall Kelly effort drilled over the bar from close to the sideline. Kelly certainly had his shooting boots on early in the game as by the 18th minute he had scored four further points three from frees. These scores together with frees from Martin Reilly and Niall Murphy and a point from play from centre back Mick Ahern left Dunshaughlin 0-8 to 0-3 up after 24 minutes. This lead was stretched a minute later when Ray Maloney got on the end of a flowing move to punch over the best score of the half. However Walterstown got the last two pints of the half to leave the score 0-9 to 0-5 in favour of the home side at the break. Two Walterstown frees straight after the break left only two between the teams. David Devereux pointed from play and when Martin Reilly sent two more frees over the bar it looked as if the bome side might run out comfortable winners. But the Blacks never gave up and although corner back Tommy Johnson scored a fantastic point after great interplay with Ray Maloney, there was only a goal between the teams as the game entered injury time. Great interceptions from Johnson, Ahern and Kevin Ward kept Walterstown at bay and indeed Dunshaughlin clinched victory with late scores from Murphy and Reilly. Best from Dunshaughlin were Tommy Johnson, Kevin Ward, John Crimmins, Ray Maloney and Martin Reilly. Dunshaughlin – Ronan Gogan, Tommy Johnson 0-1, Anthony Johnson, Kevin Ward, Eoin Hagarty, Mick Ahern 0-1, Caoimhin King, Ray Maloney 0-1, John Crimmins, Cathal O’Dwyer, David Devereux 0-1, Niall Kelly 0-5 (0-3 frees), Martin Reilly 0-4 (all frees), Paddy McHale, Niall Murphy 0-2 (0-1 free) Substitutes – Conor Staunton for McHale, David Crimmins for Devereux, Duncan Geraghty for O’Dwyer