Dunshaughlin victorious over Dunderry

November 8, 2018

Dunshaughlin 1-14
Dunderry 2-05

A foul on captain Raymond Maloney 22 minutes into the game was converted by Cathal O’Dwyer and put Dunshaughlin on there way to a 1-06 to 0-03 halftime lead. The game started brightly for the home side, setting the pace early on, David Devereux opening the scoring after only two minutes. We had to wait until the tenth minutes until Niall Kelly popped over a point before Cathal O’Dwyer opened his account raising a white flag five minutes later. Dunshaughlin were in the ascendency when a rare venture forward by corner back Fearghal Gogan results in an even rarer Fearghal Gogan point, the defender slipping by a number of Dunderry players unnoticed before shooting over. Dunderry had only managed 1 point at the time Dunshaughlin won their penalty, but in the closing minutes of the half they added two points before O’Dwyer and Conor Staunton closed out the scoring for Dunshaughlin.

The home side dominated the 3rd quarter to open up a ten point lead, with points from Michael McHale, Cathal O’Dwyer and Ciaran Farrelly. But just when an easy victory seemed likely for the home side, Dunderry scored a goal to breathe life into the game. Five minutes of pressure resulted in another goal for the visitors and with the difference reduced to just four points, Dunshaughlin were on the rack for the first time. Another point for Dunderry in the 22nd minute left just a goal between the sides but Dunshaughlin took back control of the game and kicked for home. Niall Kelly delivered a long range free to spark the home side into action again, before Denis Kealy burst through to score a point. Conor Staunton added another point a minute later and surely victory was within their grasp. Denis Kealy made sure of victory with his second point of the evening before a consolation point for Dunderry shortly before Jack Gordon blew the final whistle. Dunshaughlin ran out deserved winners on a 1-14 to 2-05 score line.
Best for Dunshaughlin were Kenny McTigue, Anthony Johnson, Ronnie Yore, Denis Kealy and Cathal O’Dwyer.

Dunshaughlin: Ronan Gogan, Fearghal Gogan (0-1), Anthony Johnson, Ronald Yore, Richie Kealy, Denis Kealy (0-2), Graham Dowd, Niall Kelly (0-2), Ciaran Farrelly (0-1), David Crimmins, David Devereux (0-1), Conor Staunton (0-2), Raymond Maloney (c), Cathal O’Dwyer (1-4).
Subs: Michael McHale (0-1) for Maloney, Tommy Johnson for Dowd, Pascal McErlean for Devereux, Michael Johnson for Farrelly, Niall Dundon for Staunton.