East Kerry Senior League

November 8, 2018

Rathmore 1-07 Dr. Crokes 2-12

This round 2 game of the East Kerry League was played in Rathbeg on Sunday. Underfoot conditions were very poor and there was a very strong wind blowing. Rathmore opened the scoring in the first minute when Michael O’ Riordan converted a free. From the resulting kick out Crokes worked their way into the Rathmore square when they were awarded a penalty, up stepped Shane Doolan but he drove his shot wide.
Crokes levelled up the game when wing back Ian Howard pointed in the 8th minute. Rathmore notched on three points without reply in the next couple of minutes thanks to corner back Michael O’ Sullivan in the 10th minute, Brian O’ Leary in the 15th minute and Michael O’ Riordan in the 18th minute.
Then Crokes replied with three points in the 20th minute by James Jones, Eoin Brosnan in the 21st minute and a Brian Looney free in the 22nd minute to leave the sides level on 4 points each. Crokes took the lead through another James Jones point in the 25th minute but Rathmore levelled it up again when Damien Casey pointed in the 26th minute.
Crokes finished the half strongly and scored another two points before the half time whistle through a Kieran O’ Leary free in the 28th minute and a Brian Looney point in the 29th minute. Half time score Rathmore 0-05 Dr Crokes 0-07.

Rathmore started the second half brightly and within the first minute they should have taken the lead but Luke Quinn made a goal line save from a Stephen Lehane shot. Crokes opened the scoring with a point in the 2nd minute to push them three ahead. Rathmore levelled matters in the 4th minute when Michael O’ Riordan finished to the net after confusion between the crokes’ defenders, Rathmore 1-05 Dr Crokes 0-08.
In the 6th minute a Brian Looney free put Crokes ahead again but in the 7th minute a George O’ Keeffe point levelled the game once again. In the 11th minute it was Rathmore’s turn to take the lead when John Buckley converted a long range free.
Then in the 16th minute Crokes were awarded a dubious penalty and Shane Doolan made no mistake converting it this time around leaving the score Rathmore 1-07 Dr Crokes 1-09.
Crokes pressed on from this and added a further 1-03 before the game finished as Rathmore faded. The Crokes’ points came from Shane Myers in the 17th minute and two Brian Looney points in the 18th and 22nd minute. Eoin Brosnan finished the scoring in the 26th minute when he rattled the Rathmore net. Final Score Rathmore 1-07 Dr Crokes 2-12.
Rathmore team and scorers: Jamie Copper, Michael J Kelleher, James O’ Sullivan, Michael O’ Sullivan (0-01), Brian O’ Leary (0-01), Ian Kelleher, Conor O’ Sullivan, John Buckley (0-01), Daniel O’ Sullivan, George O’ Keeffe (0-01), Eoin Lawlor, Stephen Lehane, Damien Casey (0-01), Michael O’ Riordan (1-02), Paul Reen. Subs used: Michael D Cahill for Damien Casey, Michael A Kelleher for Paul Reen, Mark Nagle for Stephen Lehane.