Fé 21 Football B Championship

November 8, 2018

Fé 21 Football B Championship

Sunday 13th February 2011

In Crosshaven

Result: Carrigaline 1-11 Ballygarvan 2-06

A second half rally by Carrigaline saw them come out on top as Ballygarvan didn’t capitalise on their first half lead. Ballygarvan had started brightly in the first half, leading 2-1 to 0-1 after 12 minutes with two quick goals from Mark Kennefick and Luke O’ Sullivan. Ballygarvan went in with a comfortable lead of 2-5 to 0-6 at half time.

Carrigaline, who it has to be said, missed a lot of scores in the second half, were stronger in the last 15 minutes, and eventually drew level at around 12 minutes to go. Carrigaline followed with two more points, and in injury time Ballygarvan were awarded a free, so going for goal was the only option. Carrigaline guarded the goal and broke free with the ball, and ending Ballygarvan’s championship run. Dylan Ó Caoimh was the standout player for Carrigaline, with his free taking and points from play. Carrigaline now face Ballinhassig in the semi-final. 

Team: Jack Naidoo; Fergal Ahern, Liam Hannigan, Mark O’ Callaghan; James Walsh, Emmet Ahern; Killian Mannion, Mark Kennefick; Luke O’ Sullivan, James Browne; Micheál Ó Sé, Dan McCarthy, Conor Weir.

Subs: Timothy O’ Halloran for Micheál Ó Sé, Philip Seymour for Killian Mannion and Gary Spillane for Luke O’ Sullivan.

Scores for Ballygarvan: Luke O’ Sullivan (1-1), Mark Kennefick (1-1) Dan McCarthy (0-2) and Conor Weir & James Browne (0-1) each